

Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management 1551 Hillshire Drive Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

QA: N/A Project No. WM-00011

OCT 0 1 2008

DOCKET NUMBER 63-001

OVERNIGHT MAIL

ATTN: Document Control Desk
Director, Division of High-Level Waste
Repository Safety
Office of Nuclear Material Safety and
Safeguards
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
EBB-2B2
11545 Rockville Pike
Rockville, MD 20852-2738

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY (DOE) DECISION TO CLOSE THE PAHRUMP INFORMATION CENTER

Reference: Ltr, Sproat to Weber, dtd 6/03/08 (Yucca Mountain Repository License Application (LA) for Construction Authorization)

This letter informs the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) that DOE will close the Pahrump Information Center October 1, 2008, due to budgetary and resource constraints. In DOE's June 3, 2008, letter transmitting the LA to NRC, DOE stated that "[a]s required by 10 C.F.R. § 63.22(d), the DOE is making paper and electronic copies of the public version of the LA available at appropriate locations near the proposed geologic repository operations area (GROA)." Enclosure 3 of the letter identified the locations.

Copies of the LA are available at three other locations within Nye County, Nevada, near the proposed GROA. The enclosure to this letter identifies those locations and other locations where the LA is available for public inspection.

There are no new regulatory commitments in this letter. Please direct any questions concerning these options to Jeffrey R. Williams at (202) 586-9620 or e-mail jeff.williams@hq.doe.gov.

William J. Boyle, Director Regulatory Authority Office

RAO:CJM-1200

Enclosure: As stated

cc w/encl:

B. J. Benney, NRC, Rockville, MD

J. R. Davis, NRC, Rockville, MD

A. S. Mohseni, NRC, Rockville, MD

N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD

D. B. Spitzberg, NRC, Arlington, TX

J.D. Parrott, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

L. M. Willoughby, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

W. C. Patrick, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

Budhi Sagar, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

M. G. Malsch, Egan, Fitzpatrick, Malsch, PLLC, Washington, DC

J. H. Kessler, EPRI, Charlotte, NC

M. J. Apted, Monitor Scientific, LLC, Denver, CO

Rod McCullum, NEI, Washington, DC

B. J. Garrick, NWTRB, Arlington, VA

R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

S. E. Scholley, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

Ed Mueller, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Ron Damele, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

Jim Bilyeu, Inyo County, Independence, CA

Chuck Chapin, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV

Wade Poulsen, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

Linda Mathias, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

Darrell Lacy, Nye County, Pahrump, NV

Joe Kennedy, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe, Death Valley, CA

Clinton Eldridge, White Pine County, Ely, NV

Barbara Byron, California Energy Commission, Sacramento, CA

R. I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC

Enclosure

Location of LA for Public Availability

National Nuclear Security Administration Nevada Site Office Public Reading Room Frank H. Rogers Building 755 East Flamingo Road Suite 103 Las Vegas, NV 89119 (702) 794-5117

Pahrump Community Library 701 S. East Street Pahrump, NV 89048 (775) 727-5930 Amargosa Valley Public Library 829 East Farm Road Amargosa, NV 89020 (775) 372-5340

DOE Forrestal Public Reading Room 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Room 1E-190 Washington, DC 20585 (202) 586-3142

Beatty Library District 4th Street & Ward Beatty, NV 89003 (775) 553-2257