EDO Principal Correspondence Control

FROM:

DUE:

Edward H. Salmon Richard S. Mroz New Jersey Affordable, Clean, Reliable Energy Coalition

TO:

Chairman Klein

FOR SIGNATURE OF :

DESC:

Oyster Creek Generating Station License Extension (EDATS: SECY-2008-0546)

DATE: 09/26/08

ASS'IGNED TO: CONTACT:

> NRR Leeds

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS OR REMARKS:

For Appropriate Action. Note: This action was submitted to DPC for Immediate Release per SECY thru OEDO/DPC.

EDO CONTROL: G20080649 DOC DT: 09/17/08 FINAL REPLY:

ROUTING:

Borchardt Virgilio Mallett Ash Ordaz Cyr/Burns Collins, RI

CRC NO: 08-0501

** GRN



EDATS Number: SECY-2008-0546

Source: SECY

Staff Initiated: NO

Recurring Item: NO

Roadmap Item: NO

Priority: Medium Sensitivity: None

Urgency: NO

Agency Lesson Learned: NO

Date of Incoming: 9/17/2008

General Information	
Assigned To: NRR	OEDO Due Date: NONE
Other Assignees:	SECY Due Date: NONE
Subject: Oyster Creek Generating Station License Extension	
Description:	
CC Routing: Region I	
ADAMS Accession Numbers - Incoming: NONE	Response/Package: NONE

Cross Reference Number: G20080649, LTR-08-0501 Related Task: File Routing: EDATS

Process Information

Action Type: Appropriate Action

Signature Level: No Signature Required

OEDO Concurrence: NO

OCM Concurrence: NO

OCA Concurrence: NO

Special Instructions: Note: This action was submitted to DPC for Immediate Release per SECY thru OEDO/DPC.

Originator Name: Edward H. Salmon, Richard S. Mroz

Originating Organization: NJ Affordable, Clean, Reliable Energy Coalition

Date Response Requested by Originator: NONE

Document Received by SECY Date: 9/26/2008

Incoming Task Received: Letter

Addressee: Chairman Klein

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY CORRESPONDENCE CONTROL TICKET

Date Printed: Sep 25, 2008 11:40

EDO --G20080649

PAPER NUMBER:	LTR-08-0501	LOGGING DATE:	09/24/2008	
ACTION OFFICE:	EDO			
AUTHOR:	Edward Salmon			
AFFILIATION:	NJ			
ADDRESSEE:	Dale Klein			
SUBJECT:	Oyster Creek			
ACTION:	Appropriate			
DISTRIBUTION:	RF			
LETTER DATE:	09/17/2008			
ACKNOWLEDGED	No			
SPECIAL HANDLING:	Made publicly available in ADAMS	via EDO/DPC		
NOTES:				- - -
FILE LOCATION:	ADAMS			•
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		

DATE DUE:

DATE SIGNED:



The Honorable Dale E. Klein Chairman Nuclear Regulatory Commission 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

September 17, 2008

Dear Chairman Klein,

We are the leaders of the New Jersey Coalition for Affordable, Clean, Reliable Energy whose primary goal is to increase public awareness about the critical need to keep the state and regional economy strong by investing in a wide spectrum of energy supply. Our activities are aimed at promoting better public understanding on conservation, energy efficiency, and the introduction of renewable energy sources. While our Coalition emphasizes the incorporation of these measures as a vital part of New Jersey's energy portfolio, we also stress that current energy providers must remain in operation and that new base-load generation must be developed to meet forecasted demand increases. The continued operation of existing clean energy suppliers is critical in helping negate the risk of potential shortages, higher prices, and electricity produced from sources that have significantly higher greenhouse gas impacts. One such source of carbonfree, base-load electricity is the Oyster Creek Generating Station located in Lacey Township, NJ.

The NJ Energy Coalition has always supported the continued operation of Oyster Creek and retains the utmost confidence in the license extension process that the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is implementing. We recognize that the NRC process should and will consider significant safety and technical issues, and that as such, the process is time-consuming. Nevertheless, the NRC should be cognizant that if a decision is not rendered in a timely manner, the energy supply and economy of the region and the state will be put at risk.

PJM will otherwise soon find itself seeking contingencies to replace the supply of affordable, clean and reliable energy that Oyster Creek currently provides. Lack of license extension certainty could jeopardize the stability of the regional economy as businesses and homeowners are suddenly faced with a deficient supply and significantly higher prices. We write to reinforce that it is vital for the NRC to conclude the process in a timely manner to ensure that New Jersey residents continue to benefit from an affordable, clean, and reliable source of electricity.

Dr. Edward H. Salmon, Chairman

Sincerely,

Richard S. Mroz, Senior Advisor



Membership Organizations

The NJ Energy Coalition's membership includes businesses, labor unions, and statewide, regional and local leadership organizations representing the business, healthcare, labor, consumer, academic, civic, and environmental communities.

- Central Jersey Management Company
- Chemistry Council of NJ
- Commerce & Industry Association of NJ
- Eco Engineering
- Exelon Generation
- Fish Hawks (Lacey Township-based organization)
- Fralinger Engineering
- French & Parrello Associates
- Integrated Strategic Resources, LLC
- International Union of Painters & Allied Trades
- Land Dimension Engineering
- Lerco Fuels
- Lifebulb/Greening America
- NJ Alliance for Action
- NJ Business & Industry Association
- NJ Chamber of Commerce
- NJ International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (NJ IBEW and LU 1289)
- NJ Laborers-Employers Cooperation and Education Trust (NJ LECET)
- NJ Society for Environmental, Economic Development (NJ SEED)
- NJ State AFL-CIO
- NJ Carpenters Fund
- NJ State Troopers Fraternal Association
- Pasteris Energy, Inc.
- Pennoni Associates, Inc.
- Plumbers and Pipefitters (Union Local 322 and Local 9)
- Salmon Ventures, LTD
- Southern NJ Chamber of Commerce
- Southern NJ Developmental Council
- Viking Alternative Energy, Inc.



Distinguished New Jerseyans

In addition to our member organizations, the NJ Energy Coalition's membership also includes statewide, regional, and local leaders known as Distinguished New Jerseyans.

- Dr. Fred Abbate
- The Honorable Bill Bradley
- The Honorable Leanna Brown
- The Honorable Brendan Byrne
- The Honorable Anthony Cimino
- James Davy
- Reverend James Dunkins
- The Honorable Connie Hughes
- Ron Jaworski
- The Honorable C. Richard Kamin
- The Honorable Herb Klein
- The Honorable J. Edward Kline
- Dr. Letty Goodman Lutzker, M.D.
- The Honorable Joseph A. Maressa
- David Matos, Jr.
- Kevin McCann
- The Honorable John J. Matheussen
- The Honorable Barbara McConnell
- The Honorable Carol Murphy
- The Honorable Jeremiah O'Connor
- The Honorable Thomas Pankok
- Dr. George A Pruitt
- The Honorable Brian A. Reid
- Sharon Schulman
- The Honorable George Spadoro
- The Honorable Jack Tarditi
- Mike Warner
- The Honorable Fran Witt
- Anthony J. Zarillo, Sr