Docket Nos. 50-259/260/296 50-327/328 50-390/391 50-438/439

Octobber 4, 1988

Mr. Marvin A. Runyon, Chairman Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive East Tower, 12A7 Knoxville, Tennessee 37902

Dear Mr. Runyon:

0 •

Thank you for your letter of September 21, 1988, which notified the Commission of your plans to appoint Mr. Oliver D. Kingsley, Jr. to succeed Mr. Steven A. White as Senior Vice President, Nuclear Power. This notification satisfied the request contained in the staff's Safety Evaluation Report on TVA's Revised Corporate Nuclear Performance Plan for 30 days advance notice before any permanent replacement of senior managers.

It is the staff's understanding that the Corporate Nuclear Performance Plan is being updated to reflect this management change. The revision should also clarify the reporting relationship between the Senior Vice President, Nuclear Power, the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, and the Board of Directors.

Sincerely,

Original signed by lames G. Partlow

James G. Partlow, Director Office of Special Projects

cc: See next page <u>Distribution</u> Central File OSP Reading File (88-172) Projects Reading VStello WCParler SChilk JPartlow SRichardson SBlack NRC PDR Local PDRs	
BB10070271 BB1004 PDR ADOCK 05000259 H	DED
OFC :TVA:AD/P :TVA:D :OSP:D	
NAME : SBlackas : SRimardson : JPartlow	
DATE : 10/3/88 : 10/4/88 : 10/4/88	

Mr. S. A. White

-2-

cc:

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive Ell B33 Knoxville, Tennessee 37902

Mr. R. L. Gridley Tennessee Valley Authority 5N 157B Lookout Place Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402-2801

Mr. D. L. Terrill Tennessee Valley Authority Bellefonte Nuclear Plant P.O. Box 2000 Hollywood, Alabama 35752

Mr. D. L. Williams Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive W10 B85 Knoxville, Tennessee 37902

Mr. J. P. Darling Tennessee Valley Authority Bellefonte Nuclear Plant Route 12, Box 637 Hollywood, Alabama 35752

Resident Inspector/Bellefonte NP c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P.O. Box 477 Hollywood, Alabama 35752

Mr. P. Carier Tennessee Valley Authority Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant P.O. Box 2000 Decatur, Alabama 35602

Mr. C. Mason Tennessee Valley Authority Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant P.O. Box 2000 Decatur, Alabama 35602 Bellefonte Nuclear Plant Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Sequovah Nuclear Plant Watts Bar Nuclear Plant

Regional Administrator, Region II U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 101 Marietta Street, N.W. Atlanta, Georgia 30323

Chairman, Limestone County Commission P. O. Box 188 Athens, Alabama 35611

Resident Inspector/Browns Ferry NP U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 2000 Athens, Alabama 35611

Claude Earl Fox, M.D. State Health Officer State Department of Public Health State Office Building Montgomery, Alabama 35611

Mr. M. Ray Tennessee Valley Authority Sequoyah Nuclear Plant P. O. Box 2000 Soddy Daisy, Tennessee 37379

Resident Inspector/Sequoyah NP c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 2600 Igou Ferry Road Soddy Daisy, Tennessee 37379

Resident Inspector/Sequoyah NP c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 2600 Igou Ferry Road Soddy Daisy, Tennessee 37379

Mr. S. A. White

1000

-3-

cc: Mr. John T. LaPoint Tennessee Valley Authority Sequoyah Nuclear Plant P.O. Box 2000 Soddy Daisy, Tennessee 37379

Mr. Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health T.E.R.R.A. Building, 6th Floor 150 9th Avenue North Nashville, Tennessee 37219-5404

Resident Inspector/Watts Bar NP c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Rox 300 Spring City, Tennessee 37381

Mr. J. A. McDonald Tennessee Valley Authority Watts Bar Nuclear Plant P.O. Box 800 Spring City, Tennessee 37381

Mr. George Toto Tennessee Valley Authority Watts Bar Nuclear Plant P.O. Box 800 Spring City, Tennessee 37381

County Judge Hamilton County Courthouse Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402

Chairman Board of County Commissioners Jackson County Courthouse Scottsboro, Alabama 35768

Honorable Johnny Powell County Judge Meigs County Courthouse Route 2 Decatur, Tennessee 37322

Honorable Dan Wade County Judge Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, Tennessee 37321 Bellefonte Nuclear Plant Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Sequoyah Nuclear Plant Watts Bar Nuclear Plant

Dr. Henry Myers, Science Advisor Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Tennessee Valley Authority Rockville Office 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, Maryland 20852