

South Texas Project Electric Generating Station P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

June 16, 2008 NOC-AE-08002322 10CFR50.90

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attention: Document Control Desk One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852-2738

> South Texas Project Units 1 and 2

Docket Nos. STN 50-498 and STN 50-499

Withdrawal of Proposed License Amendment Request for Deviation from Fire Protection Program Requirements (TAC Nos. MD 6694 & MD 6695)

Reference:

Letter from David W. Rencurrel to NRC Document Control Desk dated February 2, 2008, "License Amendment Request for Deviation from Fire Protection Program Requirements" (NOC-AE-07002212) (ML080390483)

In the referenced letter, the STP Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) submitted a license amendment request for a deviation from certain requirements of 10 CFR 50, Appendix R, Section III.L.1. to credit the performance of specific operations in the control room in the event a fire requires evacuation. STPNOC withdraws the license amendment request.

As a result of withdrawing this request, the commitments provided in the referenced letter are also withdrawn.

If you have any questions, please call Ken Taplett at 361-972-8416 or me at 361-972-7136.

Scott M. Head

Manager, Licensing

kjt

STI: 32326396

Adde

(paper copy)

Regional Administrator, Region IV U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 612 East Lamar Blvd, Suite 400 Arlington, Texas 76011-4125

Mohan C. Thadani Senior Project Manager U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North (MS 7 D1) 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

Senior Resident Inspector
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
P. O. Box 289, Mail Code: MN116
Wadsworth, TX 77483

C. M. Canady
City of Austin
Electric Utility Department
721 Barton Springs Road
Austin, TX 78704

Richard A. Ratliff
Bureau of Radiation Control
Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756-3189

(electronic copy)

A. H. Gutterman, Esquire Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Mohan C. Thadani U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Thad Hill Catherine Callaway Jim von Suskil NRG South Texas LP

Ed Alarcon J. J. Nesrsta R. K. Temple Kevin Pollo City Public Service

Jon C. Wood Cox Smith Matthews

C. Kirksey City of Austin