EDO Principal Correspondence Control

FROM:

DUE: 05/30/08

EDO CONTROL: G20080353

DOC DT: 05/02/08

FINAL REPLY:

Representative David Hobson Representative Peter Visclosky

TO:

Chairman Klein

FOR SIGNATURE OF :

** PRI **

CRC NO: 08-0291

Chairman Klein

DESC:

ROUTING:

DOE/Hanford Waste Treatment Plant

(EDATS: SECY-2008-0312)

Borchardt Virgilio Mallett Ash Ordaz Cyr/Burns Weber, NMSS

Schmidt, OCA

DATE: 05/19/08

ASSIGNED TO:

CONTACT:

EDO

Bagley

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS OR REMARKS:

Coordinate with NMSS.

ERIDS: SECY-DI

Template: SECY-017

EDATS Number: SECY-2008-0312 Source: SECY

General Information

Assigned To: OEDO OEDO Due Date: 5/30/2008 5:00 PM

Other Assignees: SECY Due Date: 6/3/2008 5:00 PM

Subject: DOE/Hanford Waste Treatment Plant

Description:

CC Routing: NMSS; OCA

ADAMS Accession Numbers - Incoming: NONE Response/Package: NONE

Other Information

Cross Reference Number: G20080353, LTR-08-0291 Staff Initiated: NO

Related Task: Recurring Item: NO

File Routing: EDATS

Agency Lesson Learned: NO

Roadmap Item: NO

Process Information

Action Type: Letter Priority: Medium

Sensitivity: None

Signature Level: Chairman Klein Urgency: NO

OEDO Concurrence: YES
OCM Concurrence: NO
OCA Concurrence: NO

Special Instructions: Coordinate with NMSS.

Document Information

Originator Name: Rep. David Hobson/Rep. Peter Date of Incoming: 5/2/2008

Visclosky

Originating Organization: Congress

Document Received by SECY Date: 5/19/2008

Addressee: Chairman Klein

Date Response Requested by Originator: NONE

Incoming Task Received: Letter

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY CORRESPONDENCE CONTROL TICKET

Date Printed: May 19, 2008 09:01

PAPER NUMBER:

LTR-08-0291

LOGGING DATE: 05/19/2008

ACTION OFFICE:

EDO

AUTHOR:

REP David Hobson

AFFILIATION:

CONG

ADDRESSEE:

SUBJECT:

NRC review of the regulatory processes of the DOE for Hanford Waste Treatment Plant (WTP)

ACTION:

Signature of Chairman

DISTRIBUTION:

RF, OCA to Ack

LETTER DATE:

05/02/2008

ACKNOWLEDGED

No

SPECIAL HANDLING:

Commission Correspondence

NOTES:

FILE LOCATION:

ADAMS

DATE DUE:

06/03/2008

DATE SIGNED:

DAVID R. OBEY, WISCONSIN, CHAIRMAN

JOHN P. MURTHA, PENNSYLVANIA
NORMAN D. DICKS, WASHINGTON
ALAN B. MOLLOHAN, WEST VIRGINIA
MARCY KAPTUB, OHIO
PETER J. VISCLOSKY, INDIANA
NITA M. LOWEY, NEW YORK
JOSÉ E. SERRANO, NEW YORK
JOSÉ E. SERRANO, NEW YORK
ROSA L. DELAURO, CONNECTICUT
JAMES P. MORAN, VIRGINIA
JOHN W. OLVER, MASSACHUSETTS
ED PASTOR, ARIZONA
DAVID E. PRICE, NORTH CAROLINA
CHET EDWARDS, TEXAS
ROBERT E. "BUD" CRAMER, JR., ALABAMA
PATRICK J. KENNEDY, RHODE ISLAND
MAURICE D. HINCHEY, NEW YORK
LUCILLE ROYBAL-ALARD, CALIFORNIA
SAM FARR, CALIFORNIA
JESSE L. JACKSON, JR., ILLINOIS
CAROLYN C. KILPATRICK, MICHIGAN
ALLEN BOYD, FLORIDA
CHAKA FATTAH, PENNSYLVANIA
STEVEN R. ROTHMAN, NEW JERSEY
SANFORD D. BISHOP, JR., GEORGIA
MARION BERRY, ARKANSAS
BARBARA LEE, CALIFORNIA
TOM UDALL, NEW MEXICO
ADAM SCHIFF, CALIFORNIA
BETTY MCCOLLUM, MINNESOTA
STEVE ISRAEL, NEW YORK
TIM RYAN, OHIO
C.A. "DUTCH" RUPPERSBERGER, MARYLAND
BEN CHANDLER, KENTUCKY
DEBBIE WASSERMAN SCHULTZ, FLORIDA

Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations Washington, DC 20515–6015

May 2, 2008

JERRY LEWIS, CALIFORNIA
C. W. BILL YOUNG, FLORIDA
RALPH REGULA, OHIO
HAROLD ROGERS, KENTUCKY
FRANK R. WOLF, VIRGINIA
JAMES T. WOLF, VIRGINIA
JAMES T. WALSH, NEW YORK
DAVID L. HOBSON, OHIO
JOE KNOLLENBERG, MICHIGAN
JACK KINGSTON, GEORGIA
RODNEY P. FRELINGHUYSEN, NEW JERSEY
TODD TIAHRT, KANSAS
ZACH WAMP, TENNESSEE
TOM LATHAM, IOWA
ROBERT B. ADERHOLT, ALABAMA
JO ANN EMBERSON, MISSOURI
KAY GRANGER, TEXAS
JOHN E. PETERSON, PENNSYLVANIA
VIRGIL H. GOODE, JR., VIRGINIA
RAY LAHOOD, ILLINOIS
DAVE WELDON, FLORIDA
MICHAEL K. SIMPSON, IDAHO
JOHN ABNEY CULBERSON, TEXAS
MARK STEVEN KIRK, ILLINOIS
ANDER CRENSHAW, FLORIDA
DENNIS R. REHBERG, MONTANA
JOHN R. REHBERG, MONTANA
JOHN R. CARTER, TEXAS
RODNEY ALEXANDER, LOUISIANA
KEN CALVERT, CALIFORNIA
JO BONNER, ALABAMA

CLERK AND STAFF DIRECTOR

TELEPHONE: (202) 225-2771

Dr. Dale E. Klein Chairman, Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop O-16G4 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Dear Dr. Klein:

In the Explanatory Statement accompanying Public Law 110-161, Congress directed the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) to review the regulatory processes of the Department of Energy (DOE) for the Hanford Waste Treatment Plant (WTP). This report is due to the House and Senate Committees on Appropriations within 180 days of enactment of the Act.

From 1997 to 2000, the NRC assisted DOE with developing and implementing an ambitious, and ultimately fruitless, privatization plan for the WTP. After this relationship was terminated, the NRC issued a closeout report, entitled "Overview and Summary of NRC Involvement with DOE in the Tank Waste Remediation System-Privatization (TWRS-P) Program." This report identified over two dozen significant issues and over fifty specific topics in the WTP design and approach that required further efforts and analysis.

The Committee is concerned that DOE may not have appropriate processes in place to ensure that the issues and topics identified in the NRC closeout report have been addressed. Without responsible closure of these items, the public may be exposed to unnecessary health and safety risks. Additionally, funds appropriated to develop, construct, and operate the WTP may be misspent.

As a result of these concerns, the Committee strongly recommends that the NRC include in its report an assessment of DOE's processes to ensure that the items identified by the NRC in its closeout report are addressed in a timely and responsible fashion. This information should include an update on the items identified in the closeout report with detail on the resolution of any of these items. The Committee expects that the Department of Energy will make available any information and personnel that would be helpful with complying with this request.

We look forward to reading the NRC's report on the Waste Treatment Plant. Please do not hesitate to contact the Committee if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

David Hobson,

Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Energy and

Water Development

Peter Visclosky,

Chairman

Subcommittee on Energy and

iter Visclade

Water Development

cc: Honorable Samuel Bodman, United States Secretary of Energy