

Tennessee Valley Authority, 1101 Market Street, LP 5A, Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402-2801

January 28, 2008

### 10 CFR 2.101(a)(3)

Mr. R. William Borchardt Document Control Desk U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Dear Mr. Borchardt:

In the Matter of Tennessee Valley Authority Docket Numbers 52-014 and 52-015

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION (NRC) – BELLEFONTE NUCLEAR PLANT (BLN) – COMBINED LICENSE (COL) APPLICATION – NOTICE TO LOCAL EXECUTIVES

The purpose of this letter is to inform the NRC that, pursuant to the applicant's responsibilities in 10 CFR 2.101(a)(3)(ii), Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) has transmitted to the executives of counties and cities adjacent to or surrounding the BLN location a copy of the BLN application accepted for review by the NRC. Also, pursuant to 10 CFR 2.101(a)(3)(ii), TVA has notified executives of counties and cities adjacent to or surrounding alternate sites considered in the BLN application that a copy of the application as accepted for review by the NRC is available. The notice of availability included the following information: Docket number of the application, a brief description of the proposed site and facility; the location of the site and facility as primarily proposed and alternatively listed; the name, address, telephone number, and email address of the applicant's representative who may be contacted for further information; notification that a draft environmental impact statement will be issued by the Commission and will be made available upon request to the Commission; and notification that if a request is received from the appropriate chief executive, the applicant will transmit a copy of the application and environmental report, and any changes to these documents which affect the alternative site location, to the executive who makes the request.

The county and city executives contacted are listed in the enclosure to this letter.

Mr. R. William Borchardt Page 2 January 28, 2008

If there are any questions regarding this application, please contact Phillip Ray at 1101 Market Street, LP 5A, Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402-2801, by telephone at (423) 751-7030, or via email at pmray@tva.gov.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on this  $28^{\text{A}}$  day of  $\overline{\text{Jan}}$ , 2008.

Jack A. Bailey Vice President, Nuclear Generation Development

Enclosure

cc (Enclosure):

Mr. Thomas A. Bergman Division of New Reactor Licensing U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint North, 6 F27 11545 Rockville Pike Washington, DC 20555-0001

Mr. Michael P. Cazaubon NuStart Project Manager Manager, Project Development Exelon Generation Company, LLC 200 Exelon Way Kennett Square, Pennsylvania 19348

Mr. Ronald B. Clary General Manager, New Nuclear Development South Carolina Electric and Gas Company P.O. Box 88, MC P40 Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065 Mr. R. William Borchardt Page 3 January 28, 2008

> Ms. Stephanie M. Coffin Office of New Reactors U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint North, 7 E18 11545 Rockville Pike Washington, DC 20555-0001

Mr.<sup>1</sup>Steve Frantz Morgan Lewis Bockius 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004

Mr. Martin W. Gettler Vice President, Nuclear Projects Florida Power & Light Company 700 Universe Boulevard Juno Beach, Florida 33408

Mr. Richard Grumbir NuStart AP1000 Project Manager 4205 Willow Bend Court, SE Decatur, Alabama 35603

Mr. Peter Hastings AP1000 DCWG Lead Licensing Manager, Nuclear Plant Development Duke Energy 526 South Church Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28202

Mr. Paul Hinnenkamp Vice President, Business Development Entergy New Nuclear Development, LLC 1340 Echelon Parkway Jackson, Mississippi 39213

Mr. Gary Holahan Office of New Reactors U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint North, 6 F15 11545 Rockville Pike Washington, DC 20555-0001 Mr. R. William Borchardt Page 4 January 28, 2008

> Mr. Robert Kitchen Manager, Nuclear Plant Licensing Progress Energy 100 East Davie Street, TPP 15 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Ms. Marilyn C. Kray NuStart President Vice President, Project Development Exelon Generation Company, LLC 200 Exelon Way, KSA 3-N Kennett Square, Pennsylvania 19348

Mr. David Matthews Division of New Reactor Licensing U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint North, 6 F27 11545 Rockville Pike Washington, DC 20555-0001

Mr. Victor McCree U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center 61 Forsyth Street, SW, Suite 23T85 Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Ms. Eileen McKenna Office of New Reactors U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint North, 7 E18 11545 Rockville Pike Washington, DC 20555-0001

Mr. Garry Dale Miller General Manager, Nuclear Plant Development Progress Energy 100 East Davie Street, TPP 15 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 Mr. R. William Borchardt Page 5 January 28, 2008

> Mr. Charles Pierce Southern Nuclear 40 Inverness Center Parkway Birmingham, Alabama 35242

Mr. Loren Plisco U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center 61 Forsyth Street, SW, Suite 23T85 Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Mr. Richard Reister Nuclear Power 2010 Program Manager U.S. Department of Energy NE-31, GTN 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

Mr. Joseph M. Sebrosky U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint North, E3 D2M 11545 Rockville Pike Washington, DC 20555-0001

Mr. Georges Serviere Director, EDF INA Electricite De France International North America, Inc. 1300 Eye Street, NW, Suite 305 Washington, DC 20005

Ms. Martha Shields Federal NuStart Project Director U.S. Department of Energy NE-31, GTN 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585 Mr. R. William Borchardt Page 6 January 28, 2008

> Ms. Rebecca Smith-Kevern Office of Light Water Reactor Deployment U.S. Department of Energy NE-31, GTN 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

Mr. Dennis Spurgeon Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy U.S. Department of Energy NE-1, FORS 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

Mr. George Zinke NuStart Licensing Lead Entergy New Nuclear Development, LLC 1340 Echelon Parkway Jackson, Mississippi 39213 Enclosure

## **Bellefonte**

The Honorable James Tidmore Chairman, Jackson County Commission 102 East Laurel Street, Suite 47 Scottsboro, Alabama 35768

The Honorable Rickey Keele Mayor of Hollywood P.O. Box 240 Hollywood, Alabama 35752

The Honorable Dan Deason Mayor of Scottsboro 916 Broad Street Scottsboro, Alabama 35768

### **Yellow Creek**

The Honorable Arlie South President, Tishomingo County Board of Supervisors 1008 Battleground Drive Iuka, Mississippi 38852

The Honorable Jackie Bryant Mayor of Iuka 118 S. Pearl Iuka, Mississippi 38852

# **Hartsville**

The Honorable Jerry Clift Mayor of Trousdale County 210 Broadway, Room 5 Hartsville, Tennessee 37074

The Honorable Michael Nesbitt Mayor of Smith County 122 Turner High Circle, Suite 100 Carthage, Tennessee 37030

# **Phipps Bend**

The Honorable Crockett Lee Mayor of Hawkins County 150 Washington Street Rogersville, Tennessee 37857

<u>Murphy Hill</u> The Honorable Doug Fleming Chairman, Marshall County Commission 424 Blount Avenue, Suite 305 Guntersville, Alabama 35976

The Honorable Robert Hembree Mayor of Guntersville 1685 Signal Point Road Guntersville, Alabama 35976