

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555 June 5, 1989

Docket Nos. 50-390 and 50-391 License Nos. CPPR-91 and CPPR-92 EA 88-253

Mr. Marvin Runyon, Chairman Board of Directors Tennessee Valley Authority Knoxville, Tennessee 37902

Dear Mr. Runyon:

In your letter of November 21, 1988, to James Lieberman, Director of the NRC's Office of Enforcement, you indicated that the TVA did not intend to challenge the staff's October 21, 1988 Notice of Violation or seek further review of the issue. Your letter, together with the letter of March 24, 1989 from 0. D. Kingsley, Jr., Senior Vice President, Nuclear Power, described corrective measures to ensure that TVA's submittals to the Commission meet high standards of completeness and accuracy. Your actions were acknowledged by Mr. Lieberman's letter dated April 20, 1989.

As you are aware, Steven A. White, TVA's former Senior Vice President-Nuclear Power, and his attorneys submitted a separate response to the NOV, which we have considered carefully. As a result of this reconsideration, the Commission has issued a restatement of the Notice of Violation. The restated Notice of Violation and accompanying letter to Mr. White are enclosed. The three violations stated in the original NOV have been restated and combined into a single violation. No further reply from TVA regarding the violation is required, nor do we require any further response regarding the corrective actions.

In accordance with Section 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," Part 2, Title 10, Code of Federal Regulations, a copy of this letter will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

Sincerely,

Hugh/L. Thompson, Jr. Deputy Executive Director for Nuclear Materials Safety, Safeguards, and Operations Support

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Service List Watts Bar Mr. Steven A. White

8906070147 890605 PDR ADOCK 05000390 0 PDC

SERVICE LIST FOR WATTS BAR

cc: General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive E11 B33 Knoxville, Tennessee 37902

ł

Mr. F. L. Moreadith Vice President, Nuclear Engineering Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive W12 A12 Knoxville, Tennessee 37902

Vice President and Nuclear Technical Director Tennessee Valley Authority 5N 157B Lookout Place Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402-2801

Mr. M. J. Ray, Acting Director Nuclear Safety and Licensing Tennessee Valley Authority 5N 157B Lookout Place Chattanuoga, Tennessee 37402-2801

Mr. R. A. Pedde Site Director Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, Tennessee 37381

Mr. D. E. McCloud Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, Tennessee 37381

Mr. Richard F. Wilson Vice President, New Projects Tennessee Valley Authority 6N 38A Lookout Place Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402-2801

Honorable Robert Aikman County Judge Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, Tennessee 37321 Honorable Johnny Powell County Judge Meigs County Courthouse Route 2 Decatur, Tennessee 37322

Mr. Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health T.E.R.R.A. Building, 6th Floor 150 9th Avenue North Nashville, Tennessee 37219-5404

Regional Administrator, Region II U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 101 Marietta Street, N.W. Atlanta, Georgia 30323

Mr. Glenn Walton Senior Resident Inspector Watts Bar Nuclear Plant U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, Tennessee 37381

Dr. Henry Myers, Science Advisor Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Tennessee Valley Authority Rockville Office 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, Maryland 20852