December 6, 2007

- MEMORANDUM TO: Stacey L. Rosenberg, Chief Special Projects Branch Division of Policy and Rulemaking Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
- FROM: Michelle C. Honcharik, Project Manager /RA/ Special Projects Branch Division of Policy and Rulemaking Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
- SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH BOILING WATER REACTORS OWNERS GROUP (BWROG) (TAC NO. MD2917)

DATE & TIME: Tuesday, December 18, 2007 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

- LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint North 11545 Rockville Pike, Room 2B5 Rockville, Maryland
- PURPOSE: To discuss NRC staff open issues regarding the review of BWROG topical report NEDO-33148, "Separation of Loss of Offsite Power from Large Break [Loss-of-coolant Accident] LOCA." A summary of the July 25, 2007, meeting is available in the Agencywide Document Access and Management System at accession number ML072700668.
- CATEGORY 2<sup>\*</sup>: This is a Category 2 Meeting. The public is invited to participate in this meeting by discussing regulatory issues with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) at designated points identified on the agenda.
- CONTACT: Michelle Honcharik, NRR/DPR 301-415-1774 mch3@nrc.gov

<sup>\*</sup> Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," (67 FR 36920), May 28, 2002

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR).

<u>NRC</u>		<u>BWROG</u>
M. Honcharik	R. Landry	F. Emerson
S. Dinsmore	B. Parks	R. Bunt
S. Laur		S. Visweswaran
V. Goel		T. Browning, et al.

Project No. 691

Enclosure: Agenda

cc w/encl: See next page

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR).

NRC		BWROG
M. Honcharik	R. Landry	F. Emerson
S. Dinsmore	B. Parks	R. Bunt
S. Laur		S. Visweswaran
V. Goel		T. Browning, et al.

Project No. 691

Enclosure: Agenda

cc w/encl: See next page

#### ADAMS ACCESSION NO.: ML073400512

OFFICE	PM:PSPB:DPR	LA:PSPB:DPR	BC:PSPB:DPR
NAME	MHoncharik	SRosenberg for DBaxley	SRosenberg
DATE	12/06/07	12/06/07	12/06/07

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

## Memo to S. Rosenberg, from M. Honcharik dated December 6, 2007

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH BOILING WATER REACTORS OWNERS GROUP (BWROG) (TAC NO. MD2917)

## DISTRIBUTION:

## HARD COPY:

DPR r/f

## E-MAIL:

PUBLIC RidsNrrAdro RidsNrrDpr RidsNrrDprPspb RidsNrrPMMHoncharik RidsNrrLADBaxley RidsOpaMail **Benjamin Parks** Gregory Cranston Stephen Dinsmore Steven Laur Mark Rubin Ralph Landry Anthony Mendiola Vijay Goel George Wilson PMNS RJasinski RidsOgcMailCenter RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter

# <u>AGENDA</u>

# MEETING WITH THE BOILING WATER REACTOR OWNERS' GROUP (BWROG) DECEMBER 18, 2007

- Introduction
- Discussion of U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission staff limitations and conditions regarding the review of BWROG topical report NEDO-33148, "Separation of Loss of Offsite Power from Large Break [Loss-of-coolant Accident] LOCA."
- Public Comment
- Adjournment

### BWR Owners' Group

Project No. 691

#### CC:

Doug Coleman Vice Chair, BWR Owners' Group Energy Northwest Columbia Generating Station Mail Drp PE20 P.O. Box 968 Richland, WA 99352-0968 DWCOLEMAN@energy-northwest.com

Mr. Amir Shahkarami Executive Chair, BWR Owners' Group Exelon Generation Co., LLC Cornerstone II at Cantera 4300 Winfield Road Warrenville, IL 60555 amir.shahkarami@exeloncorp.com

Mr. Richard Libra Executive Vice Chair, BWR Owners' Group DTE Energy - Fermi 2 M/C 280 OBA 6400 North Dixie Highway Newport, MI 48166 <u>librar@dteenergy.com</u>

Mr. Richard Anderson First Energy Nuclear Operating Co Perry Nuclear Power Plant 10 Center Road Perry, OH 44081 randerson@firstenergycorp.com

Mr. Scott Oxenford Energy Northwest Columbia Generating Station Mail Drp PE04 P.O. Box 968 Richland, WA 99352-0968 wsoxenford@energy-northwest.com Mr. James F. Klapproth GE Energy M/C A-16 3901 Castle Hayne Road Wilmington, NC 28401 james.klapproth@gene.ge.com

Mr. Joseph E. Conen Regulatory Response Group Chair BWR Owners' Group DTE Energy-Fermi 2 200 TAC 6400 N. Dixie Highway Newport, MI 48166 <u>conenj@dteenergy.com</u>

Mr. J. A. Gray, Jr. Regulatory Response Group Vice-Chair BWR Owners' Group Entergy Nuclear Northeast 440 Hamilton Avenue Mail Stop 12C White Plains, NY 10601-5029 JGray4@entergy.com

Mr. Ken A. McCall, Program Manager GE Energy M/C A-16 3901 Castle Hayne Road Wilmington, NC 28401 kenneth.mccall@ge.com

Mr. Tim E. Abney GE Energy M/C A-16 3901 Castle Hayne Road Wilmington, NC 28401 tim.abney@ge.com