Docket Nos. 50-390, 50-391

Mr. Oliver D. Kingsley, Jr.
Senior Vice President, Nuclear Power
Tennessee Valley Authority
6N 38A Lookout Place
1101 Market Street
Chattanooga. TN 37402-2801

Dear Mr. Kingsley:

SUBJECT: SUSPENSION OF WATTS BAR SALP

Following issuance of the NRC staff's 10 CFR 50.54(f) letter of September 17, 1985, the NRC suspended the SALP process for all TVA facilities. The SALP process was reinstituted in February 1988 for Sequoyah, in January 1989 for Browns Ferry and May 1989 for Watts Bar. The Watts Bar SALP period was scheduled to cover the period from June 1, 1989 to August 31, 1990.

The staff has reconsidered its position and has decided to extend the Watts Bar SALP period to cover the period ending June 30, 1991. Since TVA is in the middle of an extensive corrective action process, no advantage would be gained by expending resources for a SALP process at this time.

Sincerely,

(Original signed by Stewart Ebneter)

Stewart D. Ebneter Regional Administrator

cc: (See page 2)

9010150032 900913 PDR ADOCK 05000390 Q PNB

Ie-40

cc: M. Runyon, Chairman
Tennessee Valley Authority
ET 12A 7A
400 West Summit Hill Drive
Knoxville, TN 37902

C. H. Dean, Jr., Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 11A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

J. B. Waters, Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 9A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

W. F. Willis Chief Operating Officer ET 12B 16B 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

D. Nunn, Vice President Nuclear Engineering Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive WT 12A 12A Knoxville, TN 37902

R. F. Wilson Vice President, New Projects Tennessee Valley Authority 6N 38A Lookout Place Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Dr. M. O. Medford Vice President and Nuclear Technical Director Tennessee Valley Authority 6N 38A Lookout Place Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Honorable Robert Aikman County Judge Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321 Honorable Johnny Powell County Judge Meigs County Courthouse Route 2 Decatur, TN 37322

Dr. Henry Myers, Science Advisor Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs U. S. House of Representatives Washington, D. C. 20515

D. E. Douthit, Program Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

E. G. Wallace, Manager
Nuclear Licensing and
Regulatory Affairs
Tennessee Valley Authority
5N 157B Lookout Place
Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

R. J. Stevens
Site Licensing Manager
Watts Bar Nuclear Plant
Tennessee Valley Authority
P. O. Box 800
Spring City, TN 37381

TVA Representative Rockville Office 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, MD 20852

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive ET 11B 33H Knoxville, TN 37902

Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health T.E.R.R.A. Building, 6th Floor 150 -9th Avenue North Nashville, TN 37247-3201

State of Tennessee

bcc: (See page 3)

bcc: S. D. Ebneter, RII

S. C. Black, NRR

B. A. Wilson, TVAP/RII
K. P. Barr, TVAP/RII
J. Rutberg, OGC

M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA

H. H. Livermore, TVAP/RII

A. R. Long, TVAP/RII

G. C. Lainas, NRR

F. J. Hebdon, NRR

P. S. Tam, NRR

Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

TVAP/RII KBarr:vyg 08/14/90

TVAP/RII ชีพี่ปรอก 08/12/90 JMilhoan