Hieral Cop

December 1, 1994

Tennessee Valley Authority

ATTN: Mr. Oliver D. Kingsley, Jr.

President, TVA Nuclear and

Chief Nuclear Officer

6A Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

SUBJECT: WORK CONTROLS DURING AND AFTER HOT FUNCTIONAL TESTING (HFT)

Gentlemen:

Thank you for your letter of April 16, 1994, responding to our questions in the March 25, 1994 meeting on post HFT work controls. NRC continues to be concerned about TVA's ability to control work and the status and configuration of equipment after HFT, while construction is being completed. We will examine the implementation of your work controls during future inspections.

We appreciate your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely,

Original Signed By: J. P. Jaudon

Johns P. Jaudon, Acting Deputy Director Division of Reactor Projects

cc: (See page 2)

9501240099 941201 PDR ADOÇK 05000390 A PDR

Mr. Craven Crowell, Chairman cc: Tennessee Valley Authority **ET 12A**

400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

Mr. W. H. Kennoy, Director Tennessee Valley Authority **ET 12A** 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

Mr. Johnny H. Hayes, Director Tennessee Valley Authority **ET 12A** 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

Dr. Mark O. Medford, Vice Pres. Engineering and Technical Services Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Mr. D. E. Nunn, Vice President New Plant Completion Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Mr. J. A. Scalice, Site Vice Pres. Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Spring City, TN 37381

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority ET 11H

400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

Mr. R. W. Huston, Manager Nuclear Licensing and Regulatory Affairs 4G Blue Ridge 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801 Mr. B. S. Schofield Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Spring City, TN 37381

TVA Representative Tennessee Valley Authority 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, MD 20852

Mr. M. H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health 3rd Floor, L and C Annex 401 Church Street Nashville, TN 37243-1532

The Honorable Robert Aikman County Executive Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321

The Honorable Garland Lanksford **County Executive** Meigs County Courthouse Decatur, TN 37322

Danielle Droitsch **Energy Project** The Foundation for Global **Sustainability** P. O. Box 1101 Knoxville, TN 37901

Mr. Bill Harris Route 1, Box 26 Ten Mile, TN 37880

Distribution: (See page 3)

<u>Distribution:</u>

S. D. Ebneter, ORA/RII E. W. Merschoff, DRP/RII

A. F. Gibson, DRS/RII
J. P. Stohr, DRSS/RII
F. J. Hebdon, NRR
G. C. Lainas, NRR
A. P. Hodgdon, OGC
B. K. Keeling, GPA/CA
G. M. Tracy, OEDO
P. S. Tam, NRR

NRC Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

SEND	OFC	DRP/RII 6				
		\sim				
10		CJulian:vyg()				
PDR?	DATE	11/25/94	/ /94	/ /94	/ /94	/ /94
Yes N	o COPY?	Yes No	Yes No	Yes No	Yes No	Yes No