

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

October 25, 2007

Dr. April V. Gil, Acting Director Regulatory Authority Office Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy 1551 Hillshire Drive North Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF THE September 13, 2007, TECHNICAL EXCHANGE AND MANAGEMENT MEETING ON LICENSING PROCESS TOPICS

Dear Dr. Gil:

Enclosed is the summary (Enclosure 1) of the September 13, 2007, Technical Exchange and Management Meeting on Licensing Process Topics between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The purpose of this meeting was to discuss topics related to future licensing processes during the NRC review of the Yucca Mountain, Nevada, license application.

The meeting was held at the NRC Las Vegas Hearing Facility in Las Vegas, Nevada. Videoconferencing was made available at NRC Headquarters in Rockville, Maryland and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas. Stakeholders and members of the public participated via teleconference. The agenda for this meeting can be found in Enclosure 2. Enclosure 3 contains the list of attendees who were present at the noted locations, and Enclosure 4 contains the set of presentations that were given at the meeting.

If you have any questions regarding the meeting summary, please contact Brian Benney, at (301) 492-3193 or by e-mail at BJB@nrc.gov.

Sincerely,

Aby Š. Mohseni, Deputy Director Licensing and Inspection Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosures:

- 1. Summary
- 2. Agenda
- 3. List of Attendees
- 4. Presentations

cc: See attached list.

Letter to A. Gil from A. Mohseni dated: cc:

A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV

R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV

I. Navis, Clark County, NV

E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV

J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe

R. Damele, Eureka County, NV

L. Marshall, Eureka County, NV

A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV

S. Schubert, Sen. Reid's Office

M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV

J. Donnell, DOE/OCRWM

M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV

L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV

J. Saldarini, BSC

V. Prothro, Cong. Heller's Office

D. Swanson, Nye County, NV

M. Simon, White Pine County, NV

E. Sproat, DOE/OCRWM

D. Cornwall, NV Congressional Delegation

T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation

R. Herbert, NV Sen. Reid's Office

M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

R. Lambe, NV Congressional Delegation

K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation

R. Loux, State of NV

S. Frishman, State of NV

S. Lynch, State of NV

P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau

R. Clark, EPA

R. Anderson, NEI

A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe

J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force

W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell

R. Murray, DOE/OCRWM

G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C.

S. Bokhari, DOE/RW

S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.

D. Curran, Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg, L.L.P.

R. Dyer, DOE/OCRWM

J. Espinoza, GAO

A. Gil, DOE/OCRWM

W. Boyle, DOE/OCRWM

M. Ulshafer, DOE/OCRWM

S.A. Wade, DOE/OCRWM

C. Hanlon, DOE/OCRWM

T. Gunter, DOE/OCRWM

A. Benson, DOE/OCRWM

N. Hunemuller, DOE/OCRWM

P. Harrington, OPM&E

M. Mason, BSC

S. Cereghino, BSC

B. Gattoni, Burns & Roe

E. Mueller, Esmeralda County, NV

J. Gervers, Clark County, NV

D. Beckman, BSC/B&A

J. Raleigh, SNL

J. Kennedy, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe

B. Durham, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe

R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe

cc: (Continued)

R. McCullum, NEI

S. Kraft, NEI

J. Kessler, EPRI

D. Duncan, USGS

K. Skipper, USGS

W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD

C. Marden, BNFL Inc.

J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of Owens Valley

P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe

J. Egan, Esq.

D. Feehan, GAO

E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications

G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe

K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation

P. Johnson, Citizen Alert

M. Williams, DOE/OCRWM

J. Williams, DOE/Washington, DC

A. Robinson, Robinson-Seidler

M. Plaster, City of Las Vegas

S. Rayborn, Sen. Reid's Office

L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc.

B.J. Garrick, NWTRB

T. Feigenbaum, BSC

M. Urie, DOE

J. Brandt, Lander County

R. Holland, Inyo County

B. Sagar, CNWRA

V. Trebules, RW/DOE

R. Warther, DOE/OCRWM

Connie Simkins, Lincoln County

S.A. Orrell, SNL

R. Holden, NCAI

C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe

C. Dahlberg, Fort Independence Indian Tribe

D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe

Egan, Fitzpatrick, Malsch, PLLC

J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center

J. C. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe

C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes

R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe

L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah

E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe

D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe

V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute

D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes

M. Boyd, Public Citizen

J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council

D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV

I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council

S. Devlin

G. Hudlow

D. Irwin, Hunton & Williams

J. Hollrith, DOE

M. Rice, Lincoln County, NV

G. Hellstrom, DOE

S. Joya, Sen. Ensign's Office

M. Gaffney, Invo County

L. Deseil, RW/DOE

P. Nair, SNL

B. Neuman, Carter Ledyard & Milburn L.L.P.

E. Bonano, SNL

L. Newman, DOE/OCRWM