MAY 1 4 1992

Africal Cops

Docket Nos. 50-390, 50-391 License Nos. CPPR-91, CPPR-92

Tennessee Valley Authority
ATTN: Dr. Mark O. Medford, Vice President
Nuclear Assurance, Licensing
and Fuels
38B Lookout Place
1101 Market Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NOS. 50-390/91-33 AND 50-391/91-33

Thank you for your response of March 10, 1992, to our Notice of Violation issued February 10, 1992, concerning activities conducted at your Watts Bar facility. We have evaluated your response and found that it meets the requirements of 10 CFR 2.201. We had some difficulty understanding your response. Based on a telephone conversation betweeen K. Barr (NRC) and P. Pace (TVA), it is our understanding that inspections for the steam valve vault rooms were not performed, and that the lack of inspections resulted in the hardware deficiencies identified by the NRC.

We appreciate your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely,

(Original signed by L. Reyes

Luis A. Reyes, Director Division of Reactor Projects

cc: (See page 2)

7206020128 720514 PDR ADDCK 05000370 Q PDR cc: Mr. J. B. Waters, Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, Tennessee 37902

> Mr. D. E. Nunn, Vice President 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402-2801

Mr. John H. Garrity, Vice President Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, Tennessee 37381

Mark J. Burzynski, Manager Nuclear Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority 5B Lookout Place Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402-2801

Mr. G. L. Pannell Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, Tennessee 37381

TVA Representative Tennessee Valley Authority 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, Maryland 20852

Mr. Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health T.E.R.R.A. Building, 6th Floor 150 9th Avenue North Nashville, Tennessee 37219-5404

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority ET 11H 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, Tennessee 37902 The Honorable Robert Aikman County Judge Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, Tennessee 37321

The Honorable Johnny Powell County Judge Meigs County Courthouse Route 2 Decatur, Tennessee 37322

State of Tennessee

bcc: (See page 3)

bcc: K. P. Barr, DRP/RII

B. Bordenick, OGC

M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA P. S. Tam, NRR

H. H. Livermore, DRP/RII

J. B. Brady, DRP/RII R. D. Gibbs, DRP/RII

F. J. Hebdon, NRR

Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

RII HLi**y**ermore:vyg 05// \/92

05/1-2/92

RII:DRP BWilson 05/13/92