Official cops

January 27, 1995

Tennessee Valley Authority
ATTN: Mr. Oliver D. Kingsley, Jr.
President, TVA Nuclear and
Chief Nuclear Officer
6A Lookout Place
1101 Market Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NOS. 50-390/94-72 AND 50-391/94-72

## Gentlemen:

Thank you for your response of January 6, 1995, to both our Notice of Violation issued on November 10, 1994 and the additional example of the violation identified in our letter dated November 16, 1994, concerning activities conducted at your Watts Bar facility. We have evaluated your response and found that it meets the requirements of 10 CFR 2.201. With respect to Violation A, we will examine the implementation of your corrective actions during future inspections.

Your response to Violation B requires further evaluation to determine the adequacy of your assessment. You will be advised by separate correspondence regarding our deliberations concerning this matter.

Original Signed By: J. P. Jaudon

Johns P. Jaudon, Deputy Director TVA Construction Division of Reactor Projects

Docket Nos. 50-390 and 50-391 License Nos. CPPR-91 and CPPR-92

cc: (See page 2)

9502030203 950127 PDR ADDCK 05000390 PDR cc: Dr. Mark O. Medford, Vice Pres. Engineering & Technical Services Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

> Mr. D. E. Nunn, Vice President New Plant Completion Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Mr. J. A. Scalice, Site Vice Pres. Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Spring City, TN 37381

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority ET 11H 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

Mr. P. P. Carier, Manager Corporate Licensing 4G Blue Ridge 1101 Market Street

Mr. B. S. Schofield Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Spring City, TN 37381 TVA Representative
Tennessee Valley Authority
11921 Rockville Pike
Suite 402
Rockville, MD 20852

The Honorable Robert Aikman County Executive Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37381

The Honorable Garland Lanksford County Executive Meigs County Courthouse Decatur, TN 37322

Mr. M. H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health 3rd Floor, L and C Annex 401 Church Street Nashville, TN 37243-1532

Danielle Droitsch
Energy Project
The Foundation for Global
Sustainability
P. O. Box 1101
Knoxville, TN 37901

Mr. Bill Harris Route 1, Box 26 Ten Mile, TN 37880

Distribution: (See page 3)

## <u>Distribution:</u>

S. D. Ebneter, ORA/RII
E. W. Merschoff, DRP/RII
A. F. Gibson, DRS/RII
J. P. Stohr, DRSS/RII

F. J. Hebdon, NRR

G. C. Lainas, NRR

A. P. Hodgdon, OGC
B. K. Keeling, GPA/CA
G. M. Tracy, OEDO
P. S. Tam, NRR

NRC Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

					•		
SEND TO PUBLIC DOCUMENT ROOM?			YES	YES NO			
OFFICE	DRP/RII	DRP/RII/					
SIGNATURE	M	1					
NAME	ARCH:VA	PFredrickson				<u> </u>	
DATE	₹1 <u>/</u> }/\/95	1/7/195	1/ /95	1/ /95	1/ /95	1/ /95	
COPY?	(YES ) NO	YES (NO.)	YES NO	YES NO	YES NO	YES NO	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY