official cops

NOV 16 1993

Docket Nos. 50-390, 50-391 License Nos. CPPR-91, CPPR-92

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NOS. 50-390/93-58 AND 50-391/93-58

Thank you for your response of November 3, 1993, to our Notice of Violation issued, on October 4, 1993, concerning activities conducted at your Watts Bar facility. We have evaluated your response and found that it meets the requirements of 10 CFR 2.201. We understand that your response to the items in the Notice of Violation regarding the startup program concerns will be provided on November 15, 1993. We will examine the implementation of your corrective actions, as stated in your November 3, 1993 response, during future inspections.

We appreciate your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely,

(Original signed by J. Johnson)

Ellis W. Merschoff, Director Division of Reactor Projects

cc: (See page 2)

9312140023 931116 PDR ADDCK 05000390 G PDR

> 1/0 TEN

2

cc: Mr. Craven Crowell, Chairman Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 1400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

> Mr. W. H. Kennoy, Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

Mr. Johnny H. Hayes, Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37402-2801

Mr. D. E. Nunn, Vice President Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Mr. W. J. Museler, Vice President Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Route 2, P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

Mr. B. S. Schofield, Manager Nuclear Licensing and Regulatory Affairs 4G Blue Ridge 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Mr. G. L. Pannell Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Route 2, P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381 TVA Representative
Tennessee Valley Authority
11921 Rockville Pike
Suite 402
Rockville, MD 20852

General Counsel
Tennessee Valley Authority
ET 11H
400 West Summit Hill Drive
Knoxville, TN 37902

The Honorable Robert Aikman County Executive Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321

The Honorable Garland Lanksford County Executive Meigs County Courthouse Decatur, TN 37322

Mr. M. H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health 3rd Floor, L and C Annex 401 Church Street Nashville, TN 37243-1532

Danielle Droitsch
Energy Project
The Foundation for Global
Sustainability
P. O. Box 1101
Knoxville, TN 37901

Mr. Bill Harris Route 1, Box 26 Ten Mile, TN 37880

bcc: (See page 3)

Tennessee Valley Authority

bcc: E. W. Merschoff, DRP/RII

P. E. Fredrickson, DRP/RII

B. M. Bordenick, OGC

M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA

A. F. Gibson, DRS/RII

B. S. Mallett, DRSS/RII

P. A. Taylor, DRS/RII

G. C. Lainas, NRR F. J. Hebdon, NRR

L. C. Plisco, OEDO

P. S. Tam, NRR

NRC Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Route 2, Box 700

Spring City, TN 37381

DRP/RII ARuff:vyg 11//0/93

Proedrickson 11/15/93

11/1/93