Docket Nos. 50-390, 50-391 License Nos. CPPR-91, CPPR-92

Tennessee Valley Authority
ATTN: Dr. Mark O. Medford
Vice President, Nuclear
Assurance, Licensing & Fuels
3B Lookout Place
1101 Market Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: REPORT NOS. 50-390/92-41 AND 50-391/92-41

Thank you for your response of February 8, 1993, to our Notice of Violation issued on January 7, 1993, concerning activities conducted at your Watts Bar facility under NRC License CPPR-91 and CPPR-92. We have evaluated your response and found that it meets the requirements of 10 CFR 2.201. We will continue to examine the implementation of your corrective actions during future inspections.

We appreciate your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely,

Albert F. Gibson, Director Division of Reactor Safety

cc: J. B. Waters, Chairman Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

> D. E. Nunn, Vice President Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

9303020165 930217 PDR ADDCK 05000390 Q PDR

IE01

cc cont'd)
W. J. Museler
Site Vice President
Watts Bar Nuclear Plant
Tennessee Valley Authority
P. O. Box 2000
Spring City, TN 37381

Mark J. Burzynski, Manager Nuclear Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority 5B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

G. L. Pannell Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Spring City, TN 37381

TVA Representative Rockville Office 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, MD 20852

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority ET 11H 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

Honorable Robert Aikman County Judge Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321

Honorable Johnny Powell County Judge Meigs County Courthouse Route 2 Decatur, TN 37322

(cc cont'd - See page 3)

(cc cont'd) Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health 3rd Floor, L and C Annex 401 Church Street Nashville, TN 37243-1532

A. Harris

bcc: E. W. Merschoff, DRP/RII

J. R. Johnson, DRP/RII P. E. Fredrickson, DRP/RII

B. M. Bordenick, OGC

M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA

P. A. Taylor, DRS/RII

G. C. Lainas, NRR

F. J. Hebdon, NRR

L. C. Plisco, OEDO

P. S. Tam, NRR

V. Nerses, NRR

B. S. Mallett, DRSS/RII

A. F. Gibson, DRS/RII

NRC Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

4⁄∄ŭlian 102/11/93

PFrædričkson 02/レフ/93