Docket Nos. 50-390, 50-391 License Nos. CPPR-91, CPPR-92

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NO. 50-390/92-44 AND 50-391/92-44

This refers to the inspection conducted by N. Merriweather of this office on December 21-23, 1992. The inspection included a review of activities authorized for your Watts Bar facility. At the conclusion of the inspection, the findings were discussed with those members of your staff identified in the report.

Areas examined during the inspection are identified in the report. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of selective examinations of procedures and representative records, interviews with personnel, and observation of activities in progress.

Within the scope of the inspection, violations or deviations were not identified.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter and its enclosure will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

Should you have any questions concerning this letter, please contact us.

Sincerely,

15/

Albert F. Gibson, Director Division of Reactor Safety

Enclosure: NRC Inspection Report

(cc w/encl - See page 2)

9302020048 930108 PDR ADDCK 05000370 9 PDR I)(TEOI cc w/encl: J. B. Waters, Chairman Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

D. E. Nunn, Vice President Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

W. J. Museler Site Vice President Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Spring City, TN 37381

Mark J. Burzynski, Manager Nuclear Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority 5B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

G. L. Pannell Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Spring City, TN 37381

TVA Representative Rockville Office 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, MD 20852

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority ET 11H 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

(cc w/encl cont'd - See page 3)

WHA - 8 1000.

(cc w/encl cont'd) Honorable Robert Aikman County Judge Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321

Honorable Johnny Powell County Judge Meigs County Courthouse Route 2 Decatur, TN 37322

Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health 3rd Floor, L and C Annex 401 Church Street Nashville, TN 37243-1532

A. Harris

bcc w/encl:

E. W. Merschoff, DRP/RII

J. R. Johnson, DRP/RII

K. P. Barr, DRP/RIIJ. B. Brady, DRP/RII

R. D. Gibbs, DRP/RII

C. A. Julian, DRS/RII

P. A. Taylor, DRS/RII L. R. Plisco, EDO

B. Bordenick, OGC

M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA

F. J. Hebdon, NRR

G. C. Lainas, NRR

P. S. Tam, NRR

Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

S:/DRS/EB/WAB9244L.NM

RII:DRS

RII:DRS

M NMerriweather 12/6/923

RII:DRP

PFredrickson