Docket Nos. 50-390 and 50-391
License Nos. CPPR-91 and CPPR-92

Tennessee Valley Authority
ATTN: Dr. Mark O. Medford, Vice President
Technical Support
3B Lookout Place
1101 Market Street

Gentlemen:

Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NOS. 50-390/93-32 AND 50-391/93-32

This refers to the NRC inspection conducted by G. A. Walton on April 12 through April 30, 1993. The inspection included a review of activities authorized for your Watts Bar facility. At the conclusion of the inspection, the findings were discussed with those members of your staff identified in the enclosed report.

Areas examined during the inspection are identified in the report. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of selective examinations of procedures and representative records, interviews with personnel, and observation of activities in progress.

Within the scope of the inspection, no violations or deviations were identified.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter and its enclosure will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

Should you have any questions concerning this letter, please contact us.

Sincerely,

(Original signed by E. Merschoff)

Ellis W. Merschoff, Director Division of Reactor Projects

Enclosure:

NRC Inspection Report

cc w/encl: (See page 2)

9306020023 930520 PDR ADDCK 05000390 Q PDR

IEO/

Tennessee Valley Authority

cc w/encl: W. H. Kennoy, Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

D. E. Nunn, Vice President, Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

W. J. Museler Vice President, Watts Bar Site Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

M. J. Burzynski, Manager Nuclear Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

G. L. Pannell Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

TVA Representative Tennessee Valley Authority 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, MD 20852

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive ET 11B 33H Knoxville, TN 37902 2

The Honorable Robert Aikman County Executive Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321

The Honorable Garland Lankford County Executive Meigs County Courthouse Decatur, TN 37322

M. H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health T.E.R.R.A. Building, 6th Floor 150 9th Avenue North Nashville, TN 37219-5404

A. Harris

bcc w/encl: (See page 3)

## Tennessee Valley Authority

3

bcc w/encl:

E. W. Merschoff, DRP/RII

J. R. Johnson, DRP/RII
P. E. Fredrickson, DRP/RII
B. M. Bordenick, OGC
M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA
F. J. Hebdon, NRR

G. C. Lainas, NRR L. R. Plisco, OEDO

P. S. Tam, NRR

B. S. Mallett, DRSS/RII A. F. Gibson, DRS/RII NRC Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700

Spring City, TN 37381

WLittle:vyg 05/18/93

PFredrickson 05/// /93

JCrlenjak