Official cops

MAY 2 5 1993

Docket Nos. 50-390, 50-391 License Nos. CPPR-91, CPPR-92

Tennessee Valley Authority
ATTN: Dr. Mark O. Medford
Vice President, Technical Support
3B Lookout Place
1101 Market Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NOS. 50-390/93-20 AND 50-391/93-20

Thank you for your response of May 17, 1993, to our Notice of Violation issued on April 16, 1993, concerning activities conducted at your Watts Bar facility. We have evaluated your response and found that it meets the requirements of 10 CFR 2.201. We will examine the implementation of your corrective actions during future inspections.

We appreciate your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely,

(Original signed by J. Johnson)

Ellis W. Merschoff, Director Division of Reactor Projects

cc: (See page 2)

9306020015 930525 PDR ADDCK 05000390 Q PDR

TEO!

cc: W. H. Kennoy, Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

> D. Nunn, Vice President, Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

W. J. Museler Vice President, Watts Bar Site Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

M. J. Burzynski, Manager Nuclear Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

G. L. Pannell Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

TVA Representative Tennessee Valley Authority 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, MD 20852

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive ET 11B 33H Knoxville, TN 37902 2

The Honorable Robert Aikman County Executive Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321

The Honorable Garland Lanksford County Executive Meigs County Courthouse Decatur, TN 37322

M. H. Mobley, Director
Division of Radiological Health
T.E.R.R.A. Building, 6th Floor
150 9th Avenue North
Nashville, TN 37219-5404

A. Harris

bcc: (See page 3)

Tennessee Valley Authority

bcc: E. W. Merschoff, DRP/RII

P. E. Fredrickson, DRP/RII

B. M. Bordenick, OGC

M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA A. F. Gibson, DRS/RII

B. S. Mallett, DRSS/RII P. A. Taylor, DRS/RII

G. C. Lainas, NRR F. J. Hebdon, NRR

L. C. Plisco, OEDO

P. S. Tam, NRR

NRC Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

PFredrickson:vyg 05/2^{1/93}

DRP/RI)I JCrlenjak √05/₂∩/93