pficial Copy

MAY 8 0.1994

Docket Nos. 50-390 and 50-391 License Nos. CPPR-91 and CPPR-92

Tennessee Valley Authority ATTN: Mr. D. A. Nauman Senior Vice President, Nuclear Power 6N 38A Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NOS. 50-390/91-08 AND 50-391/91-08

This refers to the NRC inspection conducted by G. A. Walton on April 20 through May 17, 1991. The inspection included a review of activities authorized for your Watts Bar facility. At the conclusion of the inspection, the findings were discussed with those members of your staff identified in the enclosed report.

Areas examined during the inspection are identified in the report. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of selective examinations of procedures and representative records, interviews with personnel, and observation of activities in progress.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter, its enclosure, and any reply will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

Should you have any questions concerning this letter, please contact us.

Sincerely,



Bruce A. Hilson, Chief TVA Projects

Enclosure: NRC Inspection Report

9106110109 91053

PDR

ADOCK 05000390

cc w/encl: (See page 2)

Tennessee Valley Authority

cc w/encl: M. Runyon, Chairman Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 7A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

J. B. Waters, Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 9A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

W. F. Willis Chief Operating Officer ET 12B 16B 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

D. Nunn, Vice President Nuclear Projects Tennessee Valley Authority WT 12A 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

J. H. Garrity Vice President, Watts Bar Site Tennessee Valley Authority P.O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

Dr. M. O. Medford Vice President and Nuclear Technical Director Tennessee Valley Authority 6N 38A Lookout Place Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Honorable Robert Aikman County Executive Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321 Honorable Johnny Powell County Executive Meigs County Courthouse Decatur, TN 37322

O. D. Kingsley, Jr. President, Generating Group Tennessee Valley Authority 6N 38A Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

E. G. Wallace, Manager Nuclear Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority 5N 157B Lookout Place Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

G. Pannell, Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P.O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

TVA Representative Rockville Office 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, MD 20852

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive ET 11B 33H Knoxville, TN 37902

Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health T.E.R.R.A. Building, 6th Floor 150 -9th Avenue North Nashville, TN 37247-3201

State of Tennessee

bcc w/encl: (See page 3)

2

Tennessee Valley Authority

3

bcc w/encl: S. D. Ebneter, RII K. P. Barr, TVAP/RII S. C. Black, NRR B. Bordenick, OGC M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA S. D. Ebneter, RII F. J. Hebdon, NRR G. C. Lainas, NRR H. H. Livermore, TVAP/RII A. R. Long, TVAP/RII R. Gibbs, TVAP/RII P. S. Tam, NRR MRR Document Control Desk

NRC Resident Inspector U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

