Aficial cops

TEU

JAN 0 8 1992

Docket Nos. 50-390, 50-391 License Nos. CPPR-91, CPPR-92

Tennessee Valley Authority ATTN: Mr. D. A. Nauman Senior Vice President, Nuclear Power 6N 38A Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NOS. 50-390/90-27 AND 391/90-27

Thank you for your response of October 9, 1991, to our Notice of Violation, issued on December 20, 1990, concerning activities conducted at your Watts Bar facility. We have evaluated your response and found that it meets the requirements of 10 CFR 2.201. We will examine the implementation of your corrective actions during future inspections.

We appreciate your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely,

Original Signer By SUCE A. WILSON

Bruce A. Wilson, Chief Reactor Projects Branch 4 Division of Reactor Projects

cc: (See page 2)

201270198 920108 000390 PDR

JAN 081992

Tennessee Valley Authority

cc: M. Runyon, Chairman Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

> J. B. Waters, Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

> W. H. Kennoy, Director Tennessee Valley Authority ET 12A 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

> W. F. Willis Senior Executive Officer ET 12B 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902

D. Nunn, Vice President Nuclear Projects Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Dr. M. O. Medford Vice President, Nuclear Assurance Licensing and Fuels Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Honorable Robert Aikman County Judge Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321

Honorable Johnny Powell County Judge Meigs County Courthouse Route 2 Decatur, TN 37322

State of Tennessee

G. L. Pannell Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381 E. G. Wallace, Manager Nuclear Licensing and **Regulatory Affairs** Tennessee Valley Authority 5B Lookout Place Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801 TVA Representative Rockville Office 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, MD 20852 General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority ET 11H 400 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902 Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health T.E.R.R.A. Building, 6th Floor 150 9th Avenue North Nashville, TN 37219-5404 John H. Garrity Site Vice President Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381 Mr. H. H. Weber, Manager Engineering and Modifications Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381 O. D. Kingsley, Jr. President, Generating Group Tennessee Valley Authority 3B Lookout Place 1101 Market Street

bcc: (See page 3)

Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

JAN 0 8 1992

Tennessee Valley Authority

1

7

3

bcc: K. P. Barr, DRP/RII
B. Bordenick, OGC
J. B. Brady, DRP/RII
M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA
R. D. Gibbs, DRP/RII
F. J. Hebdon, NRR
G. C. Lainas, NRR
H. H. Livermore, DRP/RII
A. R. Long, DRP/RII
P. S. Tam, NRR
NRR Document Control Desk
NRC Resident Inspector

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

DRP/RII DRP/RII Atong:vyg 12//8/91 **K**Barr (91 12