Mr. Oliver D. Kingsley, Jr. Senior Vice President, Nuclear Power Tennessee Valley Authority 6N 38A Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Dear Mr. Kingsley:

SUBJECT: REPORT NOS. 50-390/89-11 AND 50-391/89-11

Thank you for your response of October 27, 1989, to our Notice of Violation issued on September 27, 1989, concerning activities conducted at your Watts Bar facility. We have evaluated your response and found that it meets the requirements of 10 CFR 2.201. We will examine the implementation of your corrective actions during future inspections.

We appreciate your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely,

Original Signed By BRUCE A. WILSON

Bruce A. Wilson, Assistant Director for Inspection Programs TVA Projects Division Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

cc: (See page 2)

8912260145 891215 PDR ADOCK 05000390 PDC PDC cc:F. L. Moreadith, Vice President County Judge Meigs County Courthouse Route 2 Decatur, TN 37322

Dr. Henry Myers, Science Advisor Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs U. S. House of Representatives Washington, D. C. 20515

D. E. McCloud Acting Site Licensing Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

TVA Representative Rockville Office 11921 Rockville Pike Suite 402 Rockville, MD 20852

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive ET 11B 33H Knoxville, TN 37902

Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health T.E.R.A. Building, 6th Floor 150 -9th Avenue North Nashville, TN 37219-5404 Honorable Johnny Powell Nuclear Engineering Tennessee Valley Authority 400 West Summit Hill Drive WT 12A 12A Knoxville, TN 37902

D. E. Douthit, Program Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant P. O. Box 800 Spring City, TN 37381

Manager, Nuclear Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority 5N 157B Lookout Place Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

R. F. Wilson Vice President, New Projects Tennessee Valley Authority 6N 38A Lookout Place Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Dr. M. O. Medford Vice President and Nuclear Technical Director Tennessee Valley Authority 6N 38A Lookout Place Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

Honorable Robert Aikman County Judge Rhea County Courthouse Dayton, TN 37321

State of Tennessee

bcc: D. M. Crutchfield, NRR

B. D. Liaw, NRR

S. C. Black, NRR

R. C. Pierson, NRR K. P. Barr, NRR/RII

J. Rutberg, OGC

M. S. Callahan, GPA/CA

NRC Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 700 Spring City, TN 37381

