

South Texas Project Electric Generating Station P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

March 26, 2007 NOC-AE-07002136 10CFR50.90

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attention: Document Control Desk One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

> South Texas Project Units 1 and 2

Docket Nos. STN 50-498 and STN 50-499

Withdrawal of Proposed Change to Technical Specification 3.8.3.1,

"Onsite Power Distribution - Operating"

Reference:

Letter from M. A. McBurnett to NRC Document Control Desk dated

January 31, 2006, "License Amendment Request - Proposed Amendment to

Technical Specification 3.8.3.1" (NOC-AE-06001970).

[TAC Nos. MC9707 and MC9708]

STP Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) hereby withdraws the referenced proposed amendment to South Texas Project Units 1 and 2 Operating Licenses NPF-76 and NPF-80. The proposed amendment would have extended the Allowed Outage Time (AOT) for an inoperable Class 1E vital 120-vac inverter from 24 hours to 7 days.

STPNOC currently has a broad-scope risk-managed Technical Specification (TS) amendment request with the NRC for review that addresses the TS 3.8.3.1 Allowed Outage Time. Therefore, a specific TS 3.8.3.1 amendment request is not needed.

There are no commitments in this letter.

Please contact James Morris at (361) 972-8652 or me at (361) 972-7136 if you have any questions regarding this matter.

Scott M. Head

Manager, Licensing

jrm/

ADOI

STI: 32135343

cc:

(paper copy)

Regional Administrator, Region IV U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, Texas 76011-8064

Senior Resident Inspector
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
P. O. Box 289, Mail Code: MN116
Wadsworth, TX 77483

C. M. Canady
City of Austin
Electric Utility Department
721 Barton Springs Road
Austin, TX 78704

Richard A. Ratliff
Bureau of Radiation Control
Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756-3189

(electronic copy)

A. H. Gutterman, Esquire Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Mohan C. Thadani U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Steve Winn Christine Jacobs Eddy Daniels Marty Ryan NRG South Texas LP

Ed Alarcon
J. J. Nesrsta
R. K. Temple
Kevin Pollo
City Public Service

Jon C. Wood Cox Smith Matthews

C. Kirksey
City of Austin