BOARD: Elizabeth M. Hagood Chairman

Mark B. Kent Vice Chairman

Howard L. Brilliant, MD Secretary



BOARD: Carl L. Brazell

Louisiana W. Wright

L. Michael Blackmon

Coleman F. Buckhouse, MD

C. Earl Hunter, Commissioner Promoting and protecting the health of the public and the environment.

February 20, 2007

Mr. Nader Mamish Deputy Director Division of Preparedness & Response Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response MS 06H2 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington DC 20555

Dear Mr. Mamish,

The State of South Carolina's Potassium Iodide (KI) tablet stockpile will expire November 2007. Our agency is requesting the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) replenish South Carolina's KI tablet stockpile.

In 2002, our agency requested the NRC supply the state with 800,000 doses of KI to distribute to the populations residing within the 10-mile Emergency Planning Zones (EPZ) of the five nuclear plants that affect state residents. These doses of KI were earmarked to support the following plants: Catawba Nuclear Station, H. B. Robinson, Oconee Nuclear Station, V.C. Summer and Vogtle Electric Plant. In 2002, the State of South Carolina was supplied with 749,000 doses to use for pre-distribution and to stockpile.

Efforts are underway to update changes in population that may have occurred since the last official census. We will furnish the NRC with updated population numbers as soon as this effort is complete, but no later than April 30, 2007.

The shipping address for the purpose of this request is as follows:

Mr. Richard Lipinski Bureau of Land and Waste Management Stern Building 8911 Farrow Road Columbia, South Carolina 29203 The South Carolina points of contact for this matter are:

Administrative/procedural:	Sandra Threatt	(803) 896-4095
	Richard Lipinski	(803) 896-4097
Medical Issues:	George "Tom" Fabian, MD	(803) 898-0316
Media Issues:	Thom Berry	(803) 898-3885
	Mary Nguyen Bright	(803) 896-4099

Thank you for your assistance regarding this matter. Please let us know if you have any questions or need further information.

Sincerely,

Co Earl Hunter

C. Earl Hunter Commissioner

Cc: D. Calvert, SCDHEC B. King, SCDHEC L. Waddell, SCDHEC T. Berry, SCDHEC M. Moore, SCDHEC S. Threatt, SCDHEC S. Threatt, SCDHEC R. Lipinski, SCDHEC T. Holland, SCDHEC S. Hollingsworth, SCDHEC G. Fabian, SCDHEC R. Osborne, SCEMD B. Trojanowski, USNRC P. Milligan, USNRC T. Davis, Governor's Office