UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

PPL SUSQUEHANNA LLC

Docket Nos. 50-387-LR and 50-388-LR

ASLBP No. 07-851-01-LR-BD01

DOCKETED USNRC

January 18, 2007 (8:00am)

OFFICE OF SECRETARY RULEMAKINGS AND ADJUDICATIONS STAFF

SERVED January 18, 2007

ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Pursuant to delegation by the Commission dated December 29,1972, published in the <u>Federal Register</u>, 37 Fed. Reg. 28,710 (1972), and the Commission's regulations, <u>see</u> 10 C.F.R. §§ 2.104, 2.300, 2.303, 2.309, 2.311, 2.318, and 2.321, notice is hereby given that an Atomic Safety and Licensing Board is being established to preside over the following proceeding:

PPL SUSQUEHANNA LLC (Susquehanna Steam Electric Station, Units 1 and 2)

A Licensing Board is being established pursuant to a November 2, 2006 notice of opportunity for hearing (71 Fed. Reg. 64,566) regarding the September 13, 2006 application for renewal of Operating License Nos. NPF-14 and NFP-22, which authorize PPL Susquehanna LLC (PPL) to operate the Susquehanna Steam Electric Station (SSES), Units 1 and 2, at 3489 megawatts thermal. The PPL renewal application seeks to extend the current operating licenses – which expire on July 17, 2022, and March 23, 2024, for Units 1 and 2 respectively – for an additional twenty years. This proceeding concerns the January 2, 2007 request for hearing/petition to intervene filed by Mr. Eric Joseph Epstein.

The Board is comprised of the following administrative judges:

Ann Marshall Young, Chair Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Dr. Kaye D. Lathrop
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Dr. William W. Sager Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

All correspondence, documents, and other materials shall be filed with the administrative judges in accordance with 10 C.F.R. § 2.302.

E. Roy Hawkens

Chief Administrative Judge

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Issued at Rockville, Maryland,

this 18th day of January 2007.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of)	
PPL SUŚQUEHANNA LLC)	Docket No. 50-387/388-LR
(Susquehanna Steam Electric Station,)	
Units 1 and 2)		

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD have been served upon the following persons by U.S. mail, first class, or through NRC internal distribution.

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001 Administrative Judge Ann Marshall Young, Chair Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop - T-3 F23 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

Administrative Judge Kaye D. Lathrop Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop - T-3 F23 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001 Administrative Judge William W. Sager Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop - T-3 F23 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

Lawrence J. Chandler, Esq.
Office of the General Counsel
Mail Stop - O-15 D21
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555-0001

Eric Joseph Epstein 4100 Hillsdale Road Harrisburg, PA 17112 Docket No. 50-387/388-LR ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

David R. Lewis, Esq. Pillsbury, Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP 2300 N Street, NW Washington, DC 20037

Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 18th day of January 2007