BSC CORRESPONDENCE LOG #0703068844



Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management 1551 Hillshire Drive Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

CCU.20060703.0002

QA: N/A Project No. WM-00011

JUN 3 0 2006

RECEIVED BY BSC CCU DATE: 07/03/2006

OVERNIGHT MAIL

ATTN: Document Control Desk

Mahendra J. Shah Senior Structural Engineer, Engineering Section Technical Review Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

COMMENTS ON DRAFT INTERIM STAFF GUIDANCE (ISG) DOCUMENT HLWRS-ISG-01, "REVIEW METHODOLOGY FOR SEISMICALLY INITIATED EVENT SEQUENCES"

In response to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC) request for comment in the Federal Register Notice (71 FR 29369), dated May 22, 2006, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) is providing the enclosed Comments on Draft Interim Staff Guidance Document HLWRS-ISG-01, "Review Methodology for Seismically Initiated Event Sequences."

The DOE appreciates the effort undertaken by the NRC staff to develop the draft ISG related to the review methodology for seismically initiated event sequences and the opportunity to provide comments on that draft ISG. The DOE finds the draft ISG to be useful in developing its methodology for demonstrating compliance with 10 CFR Part 63 with respect to seismically initiated event sequences.

As discussed at the June 7, 2006, Technical Exchange and Management Meeting on Preclosure Seismic Design Methodology and Performance Demonstration, DOE is proposing a methodology that will include the development of individual mean fragility curves for structures important to safety in specific cases. These fragility curves will be employed together with the site-specific mean seismic hazard curve as part of the quantification of the probability of single event sequences to satisfy the performance objectives for Category 2 event sequences, as defined in §63.111(b)(2) and §63.111(c). This will result in a determination of the probability of seismic performance for structures, systems and components (SSC) required to perform a safety function during and after a seismic event. Mahendra J. Shah

The methodology proposed by DOE differs from those specifically mentioned in the ISG in several respects. Most importantly, the proposed methodology will utilize, in many instances. the Conservative Deterministic Failure Margin methodology to determine the one percent probability of failure on the fragility curves, together with an estimate of the composite logarithmic standard deviation to develop the fragility curve for SSCs. The DOE's proposed method captures appropriate variability and uncertainty in parameters used to estimate the capacity of SSCs that are important to safety in seismic events. As indicated at the June 7, 2006, Technical Exchange and Management Meeting, DOE will document its proposed methodology in a revision to the seismic topical report, "Preclosure Seismic Design Methodology for a Geologic Repository at Yucca Mountain" in the near future and provide the report to the NRC for review and comment in fall 2006.

DOE believes that this method is consistent with the requirements of Part 63 and requests that the ISG be revised to endorse this methodology in the ISG. Detailed comments are enclosed including specific suggested changes to address this issue, all of which would result in an appropriate demonstration of safety.

There are no new regulatory commitments in this letter or its enclosure. Please contact Carol L. Hanlon at (702) 794-1324 or e-mail carol hanlon@ymp.gov, or contact Jon P. Ake at (702) 794-5526 or e-mail jon ake@ymp.gov for any additional information required.

Hilliams, Director

Regulatory Authority Office

RAO:CLH-1168

Enclosure:

Comments on Draft Interim Staff Guidance, Document HLWRS-ISG-01, "Review Methodology for Seismically Initiated Event Sequences"

cc w/encl:

C. W. Reamer, NRC, Rockville, MD Y. S. Kim, NRC, Rockville, MD D. S. Rom, NRC, Rockville, MD D. B. Spitzberg, NRC, Arlington, TX L. D. Wert, Jr., NRC, Arlington, TX R. M. Latta, NRC, Las Vegas, NV J. D. Parrott, NRC, Las Vegas, NV M. P. Lee, ACNW, Rockville, MD M. T. Ryan, ACNW, Rockville, MD W. C. Patrick, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX Budhi Sagar, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX J. R. Egan, Egan, Fitzpatrick, Malsch & Cynkar, Vienna, VA J. H. Kessler, EPRI, Charlotte, NC M. J. Apted, Monitor Scientific, LLC, Denver, CO Rod McCullum, NEI, Washington, DC W. D. Barnard, NWTRB, Arlington, VA Pat Guinan, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV William Kirby, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Ron Damele, Eureka County, Eureka, NV Susan Cash, Invo County, Bishop, CA Michael King, Invo County, Edmonds, WA Mickey Yarbro, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV G. T. Rowe, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV Linda Mathias, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV David Swanson, Nye County, Pahrump, NV Clinton Eldridge, White Pine County, Ely, NV R. I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC

cc w/o encl:

M. G. Bailey, NRC, Rockville, MD F. D. Brown, NRC, Rockville, MD Jack Guttmann, NRC, Rockville, MD J. L. Rubenstone, NRC, Rockville, MD N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD bcc w/encl: G. W. Hellstrom, DOE (GC-52) NV G. L. Smith, DOE (RW-8) NV M. L. Ulshafer, DOE (RW-3) NV M. C. Urie, DOE (GC-52) NV BSC CCU Administrator, BSC, Las Vegas, NV CMS Coordinator, BSC, Las Vegas, NV D. P. Irwin, Hunton & Williams, Richmond, VA J. P. Ake, USBR, Las Vegas, NV RAO Library Records Processing Center = "26"

bcc w/o encl: P. M. Golan, DOE (RW-1) FORS W. J. Arthur, III, DOE (RW-8) NV W. J. Boyle, DOE (RW-6) NV R. L. Craun, DOE (RW-7) NV J. R. Dyer, DOE (RW-4) NV A. V. Gil, DOE (RW-6) NV T. C. Gunter, DOE (RW-6) NV C. L. Hanlon, DOE (RW-6) NV P. G. Harrington, DOE (RW-5) NV N. K. Hunemuller, DOE (RW-6) NV C. A. Kouts, DOE (RW-9) FORS C. M. Newbury, DOE (RW-4) NV K. W. Powers, DOE (RW-11) NV S. L. Rives, DOE (RW-12) NV P. F. Sanchez-Bartz, DOE (RW-11) NV M. C. Tynan, DOE (RW-4) NV S. A. Wade, DOE (RW-7) NV M. H. Williams, DOE (RW-6) NV Stephen Whitfield, BAH, Washington, DC Donald Beckman, BSC, Las Vegas, NV S. J. Cereghino, BSC, Las Vegas, NV R. M. Kacich, BSC, Las Vegas, NV J. C. Saldarini, BSC, Las Vegas, NV M. R. Wisenburg, BSC, Las Vegas, NV R. B. Bradbury, MTS, Las Vegas, NV Veronica Cornell, MTS, Las Vegas, NV R. C. Murray, MTS, Las Vegas, NV RAO Records Coordinator, NV