

Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc.

Office of Executive Director ◆ 205 Capital Avenue ◆ Frankfort, KY 40601 Phone: 502/227-4543 ◆ Fax: 502/227-7862 ◆ Web Site: www.crcpd.org Central E-mail: staff@crcpd.org

September 26, 2006

Board of Directors

Chairperson Pearce O'Kelley <okelletp@ dhec.sc.gov> South Carolina

Chairperson-Elect Debbie_Gilley Florida

Past Chairperson Debra McBaugh Washington

Treasurer John P. Winston Pennsylvania

Members-at-Large Thomas Cardwell Texas

Jay C. Hyland Maine

James L. McNees Alabama

Office of **Executive Director**

Kentucky

Interim **Executive Director** Charles M. Hardin Tele: Ext. 2222 <chardin@crcpd.org>

The Honorable Dave Heineman State Capitol P. O. Box 94848 Lincoln, NE 68509-4848

Dear Governor Heineman:

With the enclosed certificate of recognition, the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc. (CRCPD) and the Organization of Agreement States (OAS) commends the State of Nebraska for having provided many years of outstanding radiation safety programs for the protection of your citizens, the regulation of radiation sources in your state, and the participation in the Agreement State Program of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission for the past 40 years.

The CRCPD and the OAS would encourage you and the Executive Branch to continue support of the important services that the radiation control entities provide for your state, and that serves as an example for radiation control programs in other states and nations.

We hope that you will find an opportunity to present this commendation to the radiation control program manager, Julia Schmitt, and staff, and in doing so please extend our congratulations and our wishes for continued success in regulating the safe use of radioactive material and radiation producing equipment.

Sincerely,

T. Pearce O'Kelley, Chairperson Conference of Radiation Control

Program Directors, Inc.

Paul L. Schmidst Paul S. Schmidt, Chairperson

Organization of Agreement States

TPO/CMH/ss

Enclosure

cc:

Julia Schmitt, NE Radiation Control Program

Janet Schlueter, NRC Office of State and Tribal Programs

NRC Region IV

STP-006 Template -- LIDS: SPO3

A Partnership Dedicated to Radiation Protection



CERTIFICATE OF ACHIEVEMENT

Presented to the STATE of NEBRASKA



For

44 Years of Service as the State Radiation Control Program and 40 Years of Service as an NRC Agreement State

The CRCPD and the OAS wish to commend the STATE of NEBRASKA for providing excellent radiation safety programs for your citizens and regulated community. The CRCPD and the OAS also wish to recognize the Radiation Control Program for their strong commitment of excellence to protect the public and the environment from unnecessary radiation exposure, and for their valuable partnership with other radiation control entities on a national level.

Bestowed by the CRCPD and the OAS on this 1st day of October 2006.

T. Pearce O'Kelley, Chairperson Conference of Radiation Control

7. Jana Oflelley

Program Directors, Inc.

Paul S. Schmidt, Chairperson
Organization of Agreement States