October 12, 2006

- MEMORANDUM TO: Stephanie M. Coffin, Chief AP1000/EPR Projects Branch Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
- FROM: Larry J. Burkhart, Project Manager /**RA**/ AP1000/EPR Projects Branch Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
- SUBJECT: MEETING WITH AREVA NP (AREVA) REGARDING THE U.S. EVOLUTIONARY POWER REACTOR (US EPR) STANDARD DESIGN
- DATE & TIME: Wednesday, October 25, 2006 9:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
- LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North, Room 13B4 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland 20852
- PURPOSE: To discuss unique design features and containment design aspects of the US EPR standard design. Additional details regarding topics to be discussed are provided in the attached agenda.
- CATEGORY 1:\* This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.
- PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members from the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) and the Office of Research (RES).

<u>NRC</u> S. Coffin, NRR L. Burkhart, NRR Et al. <u>AREVA</u> Sandra Sloan, et al.

Enclosure: Agenda

cc w/encl: See next page

CONTACT: Larry J. Burkhart, NRR 301-415-1311 ljb3@nrc.gov

\*Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," 67 *Federal Register* 36920, May 28, 2002

- MEMORANDUM TO: Stephanie M. Coffin, Chief AP1000/EPR Projects Branch Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
- FROM: Larry J. Burkhart, Project Manager /RA/ AP1000/EPR Projects Branch Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
- SUBJECT: MEETING WITH AREVA NP (AREVA) REGARDING THE U.S. EVOLUTIONARY POWER REACTOR (US EPR) STANDARD DESIGN
- DATE & TIME: Wednesday, October 25, 2006 9:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
- LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North, Room 13B4 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland 20852
- PURPOSE: To discuss unique design features and containment design aspects of the US EPR standard design. Additional details regarding topics to be discussed are provided in the attached agenda.
- CATEGORY 1:\* This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.
- PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members from the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) and the Office of Research (RES).
  - NRCAREVAS. Coffin, NRRSandra Sloan, et al.L. Burkhart, NRREt al.

Enclosure: Agenda

- cc w/encl: See next page
- CONTACT: Larry J. Burkhart, NRR 301-415-1311 ljb3@nrc.gov

ADAMS Accession No.: ML062840236

OFFICE	LA:NESB	PM:NAPB	BC:NAPB
NAME	MViera	LBurkhart	SCoffin
DATE	10/12/06	10/12/06	10/12/06

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

\*Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," 67 *Federal Register* 36920, May 28, 2002

## PROPOSED AGENDA FOR CATEGORY 1 PUBLIC MEETING WITH AREVA ON OCTOBER 25, 2006 REGARDING THE US EPR STANDARD DESIGN

<u>Time</u>	Topic	Led by
9:00 a.m.	Introductory remarks	NRC/AREVA
9:15 a.m.	US EPR Unique Design Features -Four Trains of Safety Systems -Incore Neutron Measuring System -Heavy Neutron Reflector -Control Rod Drive Mechanism Housing -Pressurizer Pressure Control -Main Steam Relief Train -Medium Head Safety Injection	AREVA
11:45 a.m.	Opportunity for Public Comment	
Noon	Break for Lunch	
1:00 p.m.	Containment Building Tensioning -Basis -Design Experience	AREVA
2:00 p.m.	Containment Analysis -Containment Features -Cooling Mechanisms -Analyses	AREVA
3:00 p.m.	Summary and Next Steps	AREVA/NRC
3:15 p.m.	Opportunity for Public Comment	
3:30 p.m.	Adjourn	

Memo to Stephanie M. Coffin from Larry J. Burkhart, dated October 12, 2006

## SUBJECT: MEETING WITH AREVA NP (AREVA) REGARDING THE U.S. EVOLUTIONARY POWER REACTOR (US EPR) STANDARD DESIGN

**DISTRIBUTION:** PUBLIC **PMNS** OWFN Receptionist (hard copy) TWFN Receptionist (hard copy) M. Viera (hard copy) N. Carte **DNRL** Distribution RidsNrrDnrlNapb (S. Coffin) L. Burkhart D. Roth T. Kobetz H. Scott Y. Hsii S. Bajorek G. Bagchi E. Sullivan C. Abbott J. Danna R. Denning J. Flack F. Eltawila T. Mensah N. Mamish J. Jacobson K. Welter M. Waters A. Howe K. Winsberg, OGC L. Plisco

- A. Debree, RES
- G. Tesfaye

U.S. Evolutionary Power Reactor Mailing List

CC:

Mr. David Lochbaum, Nuclear Safety Engineer Union of Concerned Scientists 1707 H Street, NW., Suite 600 Washington, DC 20006-3919

Mr. Paul Gunter Nuclear Information & Resource Service 1424 16th Street, NW, Suite 404 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. James Riccio Greenpeace 702 H Street, Suite 300 Washington, DC 20001

Mr. Adrian Heymer Nuclear Energy Institute Suite 400 1776 I Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-3708

Mr. Paul Leventhal Nuclear Control Institute 1000 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 410 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. Brendan Hoffman Research Associate on Nuclear Energy and Environmental Program 215 Pennsylvania Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20003

Ms. Sandra Sloan Areva NP, Inc. 3315 Old Forest Road P.O. Box 10935 Lynchburg, VA 24506-0935

Mr. Jay M. Gutierrez Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004 Mr. Charles Brinkman, Director Washington Operations Westinghouse Electric Company 12300 Twinbrook Parkway, Suite 330 Rockville, MD 20852

Mr. Glenn H. Archinoff AECL Technologies 481 North Frederick Avenue Suite 405 Gaithersburg, MD 20877

Mr. Gary Wright, Manager Office of Nuclear Facility Safety Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, IL 62704

Mr. Ronald P. Vijuk Manager of Passive Plant Engineering AP1000 Project Westinghouse Electric Company P. O. Box 355 Pittsburgh, PA 15230-0355

Mr. Ed Wallace, General Manager Projects PBMR Pty LTD PO Box 9396 Centurion 0046 Republic of South Africa

Mr. Russell Bell Nuclear Energy Institute Suite 400 1776 I Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-3708

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814 E-Mail: tom.miller@hq.doe.gov tom.miller@ nuclear.energy.gov sandra.sloan@areva.com sfrantz@morganlewis.com ksutton@morganlewis.com jgutierrez@morganlewis.com mwetterhahn@winston.com gcesare@enercon.com erg-xl@cox.com whorin@winston.com steven.hucik@ge.com david.hinds@ge.com patriciaL.campbell@ge.com bob.brown@ge.com chris.maslak@ge.com mark.beaumont@wsms.com James1.Beard@ge.com george.stramback@gene.ge.com