October 5, 2006

APPLICANT: AREVA NP

PROJECT: EPR PRE-APPLICATION REVIEW

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF JULY 25, 2006, MEETING WITH AREVA NP REGARDING THE

SEVERE ACCIDENT DESIGN OF THE EVOLUTIONARY POWER REACTOR

On July 25, 2006, a public meeting was held between representatives of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff and AREVA NP (AREVA). The purpose of this meeting was to discuss the severe accident design and analysis of the AREVA's Evolutionary Power Reactor (EPR) design in preparation for a topical report submittal later this year. A list of meeting attendees is included as Enclosure 1. Enclosure 2 contains a redacted copy of handouts AREVA provided at the meeting (ADAMS [Agencywide Documents Access and Management System] Accession Number ML062690363) with proprietary information removed. A summary of the meeting is provided below.

AREVA described the EPR severe accident design as part of the defense-in-depth strategy applied to the design, focusing on maintenance of containment integrity. The containment is a large dry containment similar to existing pressurized water reactors, with some enhancements. Severe accident design features include the in-containment refueling water storage tank, the core melt retention system, dedicated reactor coolant system depressurization valves, and combustible gas controls. The shield building that surrounds the containment, spent fuel pool, control room, and two of the four engineered safeguards trains for protection from external hazards is not credited for mitigation of severe accidents. An overview of the severe accident design features can be found in the AREVA handouts.

AREVA plans to submit a topical report on the EPR severe accident design and analysis later this year, with the intent of demonstrating conformance with current regulatory guidance. Severe accident design features are intended to reduce the consequences of low probability events outside the scope of the licensing design basis. Components used exclusively for severe accident mitigation are not required to meet the qualification standards of components relied upon to mitigate design basis events.

Questions regarding this meeting can be directed to Joseph Williams at 301-415-1470 or at jfw1@nrc.gov.

/RA/

Joseph F. Williams, Senior Project Manager AP1000/EPR Projects Branch Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Project 733

Enclosures:

1. Attendees List

2. Meeting Handouts: (ML062690363)

cc: See next page

Questions regarding this meeting can be directed to Joseph Williams at 301-415-1470 or at jfw1@nrc.gov.

/RA/

Joseph F. Williams, Senior Project Manager AP1000/EPR Projects Branch Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Project 733

Enclosures:

1. Attendees List

2. Meeting Handouts: (ML062690363)

cc: See next page

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC

JWilliams (hard copy)

LBurkhardt (hard copy)

RidsNrrDnrlNapb (SCoffin)

RidsNrrDnrl (TBergman, DMatthews, JCalvo)

RidsNrrDraApla (MRubin)

CAbbott

JDanna

FEltawila

SBasu

ADrozd

MHart

KJabbour

MMeInicoff

BPalla

MStutzke

HWagage

ADAMS ACCESSION NO.: ML062700327 *See previous concurrence

OFFICE	PM: NAPB	LA: NEPB	BC: NAPB
NAME	JWilliams	MViera	SCoffin
DATE	09/28/06	10/03/06	10/05/06

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Attendees

EPR Severe Accident Design and Analysis

July 25, 2006

Name Organization Manfred Fischer AREVA NP Alan Levin AREVA NP Robert Martin AREVA NP **Toney Mathews** AREVA NP Stephen Mazurkiewicz AREVA NP Sandra Sloan AREVA NP Eric Williams AREVA NP **Brue Cottom** consultant Sud Basu **NRC** Larry Burkhart NRC Jose Calvo NRC Andrej Drozd NRC Michelle Hart NRC Kahtan Jabbour NRC Mark Melnicoff **NRC** Bob Palla NRC Mark Rubin NRC Marty Stutzke **NRC** Hanry Wagage **NRC** Joe Williams **NRC** George Wrobel UniStar

U.S. Evolutionary Power Reactor Mailing List

CC:

Mr. David Lochbaum, Nuclear Safety Engineer Union of Concerned Scientists 1707 H Street, NW., Suite 600 Washington, DC 20006-3919

Mr. Paul Gunter Nuclear Information & Resource Service 1424 16th Street, NW, Suite 404 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. James Riccio Greenpeace 702 H Street, Suite 300 Washington, DC 20001

Mr. Adrian Heymer Nuclear Energy Institute Suite 400 1776 I Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-3708

Mr. Paul Leventhal Nuclear Control Institute 1000 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 410 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. Brendan Hoffman Research Associate on Nuclear Energy and Environmental Program 215 Pennsylvania Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20003

Ms. Sandra Sloan Areva NP, Inc. 3315 Old Forest Road P.O. Box 10935 Lynchburg, VA 24506-0935

Mr, Jay M. Gutierrez Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004 Mr. Charles Brinkman, Director Washington Operations Westinghouse Electric Company 12300 Twinbrook Parkway, Suite 330 Rockville, MD 20852

Mr. Glenn H. Archinoff AECL Technologies 481 North Frederick Avenue Suite 405 Gaithersburg, MD 20877

Mr. Gary Wright, Manager
Office of Nuclear Facility Safety
Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety
1035 Outer Park Drive
Springfield, IL 62704

Mr. Ronald P. Vijuk
Manager of Passive Plant Engineering
AP1000 Project
Westinghouse Electric Company
P. O. Box 355
Pittsburgh, PA 15230-0355

Mr. Ed Wallace, General Manager Projects PBMR Pty LTD PO Box 9396 Centurion 0046 Republic of South Africa

Mr. Russell Bell Nuclear Energy Institute Suite 400 1776 I Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-3708

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

E-Mail:

tom.miller@hq.doe.gov or tom.miller@ nuclear.energy.gov sandra.sloan@areva.com sfrantz@morganlewis.com ksutton@morganlewis.com jgutierrez@morganlewis.com mwetterhahn@winston.com gcesare@enercon.com erg-xl@cox.com whorin@winston.com steven.hucik@ge.com david.hinds@ge.com patriciaL.campbell@ge.com bob.brown@ge.com chris.maslak@ge.com mark.beaumont@wsms.com James1.Beard@ge.com nnc@nrc.gov george.stramback@gene.ge.com