August 31, 2006

MEMORANDUM TO: Stephanie Coffin, Branch Chief

AP1000/EPR Projects Branch Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Steven Bloom, Senior Project Manager /RA/

AP1000/EPR Projects Branch
Division of New Reactor Licensing
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING CLOSED MEETING WITH WESTINGHOUSE

ELECTRIC COMPANY REGARDING AP1000 REACTOR FUELS

DATE & TIME: Tuesday, September 12, 2006

9:00 a.m. -12:00 p.m.

LOCATION: Westinghouse Electric Company

12300 Twinbrook Parkway, Suite 330

Rockville, MD 20852

PURPOSE: To discuss proprietary material related to the AP1000 reactor fuel

design. The entire meeting will be closed to the public because the staff

has determined that the information to be discussed is proprietary information in nature. The NRC plans to issue a meeting summary, as

appropriate.

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members from the Office of Nuclear

Reactor Regulation (NRR).

NRC
R. Landry, NRR
D. Lindgren
R. Sisk
P. Clifford, NRR
R. S. Ray
WESTINGHOUSE
D. Lindgren
R. Sisk
S. Ray
W. Miller

S. Bloom, NRR, et al. R. Knott

CONTACT: Steven Bloom, NRR

301-415-1313, sdb1@nrc.gov

*Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," 67 Federal Register 36920, May 28, 2002

Project No. 740

Attachment: List of Discussion Topics

cc: See next page

MEMORANDUM TO: Stephanie Coffin, Branch Chief

AP1000/EPR Projects Branch Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Steven Bloom, Senior Project Manager /RA/

AP1000/EPR Projects Branch
Division of New Reactor Licensing
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING CLOSED MEETING WITH WESTINGHOUSE

ELECTRIC COMPANY REGARDING AP1000 REACTOR FUELS

DATE & TIME: Tuesday, September 12, 2006

9:00 a.m. -12:00 p.m.

LOCATION: Westinghouse Electric Company

12300 Twinbrook Parkway, Suite 330

Rockville, MD 20852

PURPOSE: To discuss proprietary material related to the AP1000 reactor fuel

design. The entire meeting will be closed to the public because the staff

has determined that the information to be discussed is proprietary information in nature. The NRC plans to issue a meeting summary, as

appropriate.

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members from the Office of Nuclear

Reactor Regulation (NRR).

NRCWESTINGHOUSER. Landry, NRRD. LindgrenR. SiskP. Clifford, NRRS. RayW. Miller

S. Bloom, NRR, et al. R. Knott

CONTACT: Steven Bloom, NRR

301-415-1313, sdb1@nrc.gov

*Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," 67 Federal Register 36920, May 28, 2002

Project No. 740

Attachment: List of Discussion Topics

cc: See next page

ADAMS ACCESSION NO. ML062430452

OFFICE	NAPB/PM	NAPB/BC
NAME	SBloom	SCoffin
DATE	08/31/2006	08/31/2006

Distribution for Meeting Notice dated August 31, 2006

Hard Copy

SBloom

E-Mail:

PMNS

PUBLIC

NAPB Grp.

DMatthews/TBergman

SBloom

SCoffin

FAkstulewicz

RLandry

PClifford

HScott

JVoglewede

OPA

MKowal

MCullingford JDixon-Herrity, EDO

RJasinski

OGC

ACRS

JDanna

LPlisco

KWindberg

Closed Meeting with Westinghouse Regarding Fuel Design September 12, 2006

Westinghouse Electric Company

The following topics related to the AP1000 reactor fuel design will be discussed:

Approach to Initial Core Load

Review of AP1000 DCD COL Action Items

Outline of Technical Report

Review of AP1000 Core Design and Operations

Review of AP1000 Fuel Products

AP 1000

CC:

Mr. W. Edward Cummins AP600 and AP1000 Projects Westinghouse Electric Company P.O. Box 355 Pittsburgh, PA 15230-0355

Mr. Bradley F. Maurer, Acting Manager Regulatory Compliance and Plant Licensing Westinghouse Electric Company P.O. Box 355 Pittsburgh, PA 15230

Mr. Barton Z. Cowan, Esq. Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC 600 Grant Street 44th Floor Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Mr. Charles Brinkman, Director Washington Operations Westinghouse Electric Company 12300 Twinbrook Parkway, Suite 330 Rockville, MD 20852

Mr. Adrian Heymer Nuclear Energy Institute 1776 I Street NW Suite 400 Washington, DC 20006

Mr. David Lochbaum Nuclear Safety Engineer Union of Concerned Scientists 1707 H Street NW, Suite 600 Washington, DC 20006-3919

Mr. Paul Gunter Nuclear Information & Resource Service 1424 16th Street, NW., Suite 404 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. James Riccio Greenpeace 702 H Street, NW, Suite 300 Washington, DC 20001 Mr. Ed Wallace, General Manager Projects PBMR Pty LTD PO Box 9396 Centurion 0046 Republic of South Africa

Mr. Glenn H. Archinoff AECL Technologies 481 North Frederick Avenue Suite 405 Gaithersburg, MD. 20877

Mr. Gary Wright, Manager Office of Nuclear Facility Safety Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, IL 62704

Mr. Paul Leventhal Nuclear Control Institute 1000 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 410 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. Jay M. Gutierrez Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004

Mr. Brendan Hoffman
Research Associate on Nuclear Energy
Public Citizens Critical Mass Energy
and Environmental Program
215 Pennsylvania Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20003

Mr. Ronald P. Vijuk Manager of Passive Plant Engineering AP1000 Project Westinghouse Electric Company P. O. Box 355 Pittsburgh, PA 15230-0355

Mr. Russell Bell Nuclear Energy Institute Suite 400 1776 I Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-3708 Mr. Ron Simard 6170 Masters Club Drive Suwanne, GA 30024

Ms. Sandra Sloan Areva NP, Inc. 3315 Old Forest Road P.O. Box 10935 Lynchburg, VA 24506-0935

Mr. George Alan Zinke Project Manager Nuclear Business Development Entergy Nuclear M-ECH-683 1340 Echelon Parkway Jackson, MS 39213

Ms. Marilyn Kray Vice President, Special Projects Exelon Generation 200 Exelon Way, KSA3-E Kennett Square, PA 19348

Dr. Regis A. Matzie Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer Westinghouse Electric Company 2000 Day Hill Road Windsor, CT 06095-0500

Ms. Lynn Connor
Doc-Search Associates
2211 SW 1st Avenue #1502
Portland, OR 97201

Mr. Jerald S. Holm Framatome ANP, Inc. 3315 Old Forest Road P.O. Box 10935 Lynchburg, VA 24506-0935

E-Mail:

tom.miller@hq.doe.gov or tom.miller@ nuclear.energy.gov mwetterhahn@winston.com whorin@winston.com gcesare@enercon.com sandra.sloan@areva.com louis.quintana@ge.com steven.hucik@ge.com david.hinds@ge.com chris.maslak@ge.com crpierce@southernco.com tomccall@southernco.com garry.miller@pgnmail.com gzinke@entergy.com rclary@scana.com pshastings@duke-energy.com james1beard@ge.com patriciaL.campbell@ge.com bob.brown@ge.com erg-xl@cox.net mark.beaumont@wsms.com sfrantz@morganlewis.com ksutton@morganlewis.com igutierrez@morganlewis.com mgiles@entergy.com sterdia@westinghouse.com cristina.lonescu@pgnmail.com gwcurtis2@tva.gov robert.kitchen@pgnmail.com sterdiA@westinghouse.com mike moran@fpl.com amonroe@scana.com