July 10, 2006

APPLICANT: AREVA NP

PROJECT: U.S. EPR PRE-APPLICATION REVIEW

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF JUNE 20, 2006, MEETING WITH AREVA NP AND

CONSTELLATION ENERGY TO DISCUSS FIRE PROTECTION AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEM PORTIONS OF THE U.S. EPR DESIGN

On June 20, 2006, a Category 1 public meeting was held between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff and representatives of AREVA NP (AREVA) and Constellation Energy. The purpose of this meeting was to discuss the status of the U.S. EPR design in the areas of fire protection and the electrical system. This project is currently in the pre-application stages and AREVA personnel plan to submit the design for certification by the end of 2007. A list of meeting attendees is included as Attachment 1. Attachment 2 contains handouts provided by AREVA at the meeting (ADAMS Accession Number ML061880018).

Public attendees were given opportunity to comment prior to adjournment. No comments were offered at that time.

Questions regarding this meeting can be directed to Larry J. Burkhart or Joseph Williams at 301-415-1311 or ljb3@nrc.gov and 301-415-1470, or at jfw1@nrc.gov, respectively.

/RA/

Larry J. Burkhart
Project Manager
AP1000/EPR Branch
Division of New Reactor Licensing
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Project 733

APPLICANT: AREVA NP

PROJECT: U.S. EPR PRE-APPLICATION REVIEW

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF JUNE 20, 2006, MEETING WITH AREVA NP AND

CONSTELLATION ENERGY TO DISCUSS FIRE PROTECTION AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEM PORTIONS OF THE U.S. EPR DESIGN

On June 20, 2006, a Category 1 public meeting was held between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff and representatives of AREVA NP (AREVA) and Constellation Energy. The purpose of this meeting was to discuss the status of the U.S. EPR design in the areas of fire protection and the electrical system. This project is currently in the pre-application stages and AREVA personnel plan to submit the design for certification by the end of 2007. A list of meeting attendees is included as Attachment 1. Attachment 2 contains handouts provided by AREVA provided at the meeting (ADAMS Accession Number ML061880018). A summary of the meeting is provided below.

Public attendees were given opportunity to comment prior to adjournment. No comments were offered at that time.

Questions regarding this meeting can be directed to Larry J. Burkhart or Joseph Williams at 301-415-1311 or lib3@nrc.gov and 301-415-1470, or at jfw1@nrc.gov, respectively.

/RA/

Larry J. Burkhart
Project Manager
AP1000/EPR Branch
Division of New Reactor Licensing
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Project 733

ADAMS ACCESSION NO.: ML061880029

ML061880018-Slides ML061880032-Package

OFFICE	PM:NAPB	BC:NAPB
NAME	LBurkhart	SCoffin
DATE	07/10/06	07/10/06

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Distribution: Meeting Summary Re: EPR Standard Design, dated June 10, 2006

Hard Copy

NAPB R/F

JWilliams

OWFN Receptionist

TWFN Receptionist

E-Mail:

- D. Matthews/WBeckner/JCalvo
- S. Coffin
- L. Burkhart
- G. Taylor
- G. Dick
- P. Kang
- M. Waterman
- O. Chopra
- A. Pal
- G. Morris
- T. Koshy
- A. Klein
- D. Frumkin
- P. Lain
- J. Dreisbach
- J. Danna
- F. Eltawila
- K. Welter

E-Mail:

bhupinder.singh@hq.doe.gov

tom.miller@hq.doe.gov

bill.ascroft-hutton@hse.gsi.gov.uk

rzentkowskig@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca

kcrogers@aol.com

mod@inel.gov

jerald.holm@framatome-anp.com

ronda.daflucas@areva.com

sandra.sloan@areva.com

tom.miller@ nuclear.energy.gov

sandra.sloan@areva.com

mwetterhahn@winston.com

gcesare@enercon.com

eddie.grant@exeloncorp.com

whorin@winston.com

steven.hucik@ge.com

david.hinds@ge.com

chris.maslak@ge.com

james1beard@ge.com

louis.quintana@ge.com

EPR cc:

Mr. David Lochbaum, Nuclear Safety Engineer Union of Concerned Scientists 1707 H Street, NW., Suite 600 Washington, DC 20006-3919

Mr. Paul Gunter Nuclear Information & Resource Service 1424 16th Street, NW, Suite 404 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. James Riccio Greenpeace 702 H Street, Suite 300 Washington, DC 20001

Mr. Adrian Heymer Nuclear Energy Institute Suite 400 1776 I Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-3708

Mr. Paul Leventhal Nuclear Control Institute 1000 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 410 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. Brendan Hoffman Research Associate on Nuclear Energy and Environmental Program 215 Pennsylvania Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20003

Ms. Sandra Sloan Areva NP, Inc. 3315 Old Forest Road P.O. Box 10935 Lynchburg, VA 24506-0935

Ms. Patricia Campbell Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004 Mr. Charles Brinkman, Director Washington Operations Westinghouse Electric Company 12300 Twinbrook Parkway, Suite 330 Rockville, MD 20852

Mr. Glenn H. Archinoff AECL Technologies 481 North Frederick Avenue Suite 405 Gaithersburg, MD. 20877

Mr. Gary Wright, Manager Office of Nuclear Facility Safety Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, IL 62704

Mr. Ronald P. Vijuk Manager of Passive Plant Engineering AP1000 Project Westinghouse Electric Company P. O. Box 355 Pittsburgh, PA 15230-0355

Mr. Ed Wallace, General Manager Projects PBMR Pty LTD PO Box 9396 Centurion 0046 Republic of South Africa

Mr. Russell Bell Nuclear Energy Institute Suite 400 1776 I Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-3708

Ms. Kathryn Sutton, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bocklus, LLP 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

Attendees

Public Meeting to Discuss Fire Protection and Electrical System Design Areas for the U.S. EPR Design

June 20, 2006

Name Affiliation Joe Redmond AREVA Dan Grundman **AREVA Toney Mathews AREVA** Zia Salami **AREVA** Ronda Daflucas **AREVA** Sandra Sloan **AREVA** Brian Gardes **AREVA** William McDevitt **AREVA** John Crowther **AREVA AREVA** Chris Schaeffer George Wrobel Constellation Gabriel Taylor **NRC NRC** Peter Kang **NRC** Mike Waterman Jason Dreisbach **NRC** George Dick **NRC** Joe Williams **NRC** Larry Burkhart **NRC NRC** Om Chopra **NRC** Amar Pal George Morris **NRC** Jose Calvo **NRC** Thomas Koshy **NRC**

Name Affiliation

Alex Klein NRC

Daniel Frumkin NRC

Paul Lain NRC

Brian Thompson GE

Jeff Boaz GE