July 13, 2006

Mr. Mark H. Williams, Director Regulatory Authority Office Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy 1551 Hillshire Drive North Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF THE JUNE 7, 2006, TECHNICAL EXCHANGE AND MANAGEMENT MEETING ON SEISMIC DESIGN METHODOLOGY AND PERFORMANCE DEMONSTRATION

Dear Mr. Williams:

Enclosed is the summary of the June 7, 2006, Technical Exchange and Management Meeting between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The purpose of this meeting was to discuss preclosure seismic design methodology and performance demonstration. The discussions focused on the Draft Interim Staff Guidance, HLWRS-ISG-01, *Review Methodology for Seismically Initiated Event Sequences*, that was issued for public comment on May 22, 2006 (71 FR 29369). This guidance supplements the Yucca Mountain Review Plan, NUREG-1804, Revision 2, for review of seismically initiated event sequences in the pre-closure safety analysis of the proposed Yucca Mountain geologic repository. At this meeting, DOE made presentations on its approach for seismic analyses to demonstrate preclosure performance.

This meeting was held at the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Hearing Facility in Las Vegas, Nevada, and via videoconferencing to NRC Headquarters in Rockville, Maryland; the Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC facilities in Las Vegas, Nevada; and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas.

If you have any questions regarding the meeting summary, please contact Robert Johnson at (301) 415-6900 or by e-mail at <u>RKJ@nrc.gov.</u>

Sincerely, /RA/

Lawrence E. Kokajko, Deputy Director Technical Review Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosures:

- 1. Summary
- 2. Agenda
- 3. List of Attendees
- 4. Presentations
- cc: See attached list.

Mr. Mark H. Williams, Director Regulatory Authority Office Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy 1551 Hillshire Drive North Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF THE JUNE 7, 2006, TECHNICAL EXCHANGE AND MANAGEMENT MEETING ON SEISMIC DESIGN METHODOLOGY AND PERFORMANCE DEMONSTRATION

Dear Mr. Williams:

Enclosed is the summary of the June 7, 2006, Technical Exchange and Management Meeting between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The purpose of this meeting was to discuss preclosure seismic design methodology and performance demonstration. The discussions focused on the Draft Interim Staff Guidance, HLWRS-ISG-01, *Review Methodology for Seismically Initiated Event Sequences*, that was issued for public comment on May 22, 2006 (71 FR 29369). This guidance supplements the Yucca Mountain Review Plan, NUREG-1804, Revision 2, for review of seismically initiated event sequences in the pre-closure safety analysis of the proposed Yucca Mountain geologic repository. At this meeting, DOE made presentations on its approach for seismic analyses to demonstrate preclosure performance.

This meeting was held at the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Hearing Facility in Las Vegas, Nevada, and via videoconferencing to NRC Headquarters in Rockville, Maryland; the Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC facilities in Las Vegas, Nevada; and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas.

If you have any questions regarding the meeting summary, please contact Robert Johnson at (301) 415-6900 or by e-mail at <u>RKJ@nrc.gov.</u>

Sincerely, /RA/

Lawrence E. Kokajko, Deputy Director Technical Review Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosures:

- 1. Summary
- 2. Agenda
- 3. List of Attendees
- 4. Presentations

cc: See attached list.

|--|

HLWRS r/f	ACNW	VMehrhoff	CNWRA	LKokajko	ECollins		
KMcConnell	JGuttmann	KStablein	ACampbell	MBailey	DRom		
LChandler	HWedewer	JMoore	MZoble	er TCom	bs BSpitzberg		
WMaier	GMorell	SRohrer	DMcIntyre	HLWRS Staff			
ML061840536							
OFFICE	HLWRS	HLWRS	HLWRS	OGC	HLWRS		
NAME	SRohrer	RJohnson	KStablein	HWedew	er LKokajko		
DATE	07/06/06	07/06/06	07/06/06	07/12/06	07/13/06		

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Letter to M. Williams from L. E. Kokajko dated: cc:	July 13, 2006		
A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV	A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe		
R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV	J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force		
I. Navis, Clark County, NV	W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell		
E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV	R. Murray, DOE/ORD		
G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV	G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C.		
R. Damele, Eureka County, NV	C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.		
L. Marshall, Eureka County, NV	S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.		
A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV	W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD		
S. Schubert, Sen. Reid's Office	R. Dyer, DOE/ORD		
M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV	J. Espinoza, GAO		
J. Donnell, DOE/ORD	A. Gil, DOE/ORD		
M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV	W. Boyle, DOE/ORD		
L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV	M. Ulshafer, DOE/OCRWM		
J. Saldarini, BSC	S.A. Wade, DOE/ORD		
M. Henderson, Cong. J. Gibbon's Office	C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD		
D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV	T. Gunter, DOE/ORD		
M. Simon, White Pine County, NV	A. Benson, DOE/ORD		
J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation	N. Hunemuller, DOE/ORD		
D. Cornwall, NV Congressional Delegation	P. Harrington, OPM&E		
T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation	M. Mason, BSC		
R. Herbert, NV Sen. Reid's Office	S. Cereghino, BSC		
M. Murphy, Nye County, NV	B. Gattoni, Burns & Roe		
R. Lambe, NV Congressional Delegation	E. Mueller, BSC		
K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation	J. Gervers, Clark County, NV		
R. Loux, State of NV	D. Beckman, BSC/B&A		
S. Frishman, State of NV	L. Rasura-Alfano, Lincoln County, NV		
S. Lynch, State of NV	J. Kennedy, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe		
P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau	B. Durham, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe		
R. Clark, EPA	R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe		
R. Anderson, NEI	J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe		

- cc: (Continued)
- R. McCullum, NEI
- S. Kraft, NEI
- J. Kessler, EPRI
- D. Duncan, USGS
- K. Skipper, USGS
- W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD
- C. Marden, BNFL Inc.
- J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley
- P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- T. Kingham, GAO
- D. Feehan, GAO
- E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications
- G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation
- P. Johnson, Citizen Alert
- M. Williams, DOE/ORD
- J. Williams, DOE/Washington, DC
- A. Robinson, Robinson-Seidler
- M. Plaster, City of Las Vegas
- S. Rayborn, Sen. Reid's Office
- L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc.
- B.J. Garrick, NWTRB
- T. Feigenbaum, BSC
- M. Urie, DOE
- J. Brandt, Lander County
- B. Sagar, CNWRA

- R. Holden, NCAI
- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe

Egan, Fitzpatrick, Malsch, PLLC

- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center
- J. C. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe
- C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes
- R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe
- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe
- V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute
- D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes
- H. Jackson, Public Citizen
- J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV
- I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council
- S. Devlin
- G. Hudlow
- D. Irwin, Hunton & Williams
- P. Golan, DOE
- M. Rice, Lincoln County, NV
- G. Hellstrom, DOE
- S. Joya, Sen. Ensign's Office