

Serial: HNP-06-074 10 CFR 50.48

Mr. Sunil D. Weerakkody, Fire Protection Branch Chief U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland 20852-2738

SHEARON HARRIS NUCLEAR POWER PLANT, UNIT NO. 1 DOCKET NO. 50-400/LICENSE NO. NPF-63

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQS), REQUESTING ADDITIONAL GUIDANCE OR CLARIFICATION REGARDING TRANSITION TO NFPA-805 "PERFORMANCE BASED STANDARD FOR FIRE PROTECTION FOR LIGHT WATER REACTOR ELECTRIC GENERATING PLANTS"

Dear Mr. Weerakkody:

Attached please find a Frequently Asked Question (FAQ), requesting additional guidance or clarification regarding Transition to NFPA-805 "Performance Based Standard for Fire Protection for Light Water Reactor Electric Generating Plants." This question is submitted in the format discussed during the March 27-30, 2006 Pilot Plant status meeting in Raleigh, North Carolina with representatives of Progress Energy, Duke Energy and the NRC Staff. This FAQ is another portion of the "Parking Lot" Issues identified during that meeting.

It should be noted that this FAQ is not intended to be used for recommending changes to NFPA-805. It is only intended to be used for clarification of or changes to NEI 04-02, "Guidance For Implementing A Risk-Informed, Performance-Based Fire Protection Program Under 10 CFR 50.48(c)." Our understanding is that once approved, FAQs will be considered to be an extension of NEI 04-02 and will be incorporated at the next revision of that document.

Please review the attached FAQ, and advise on the acceptability of the proposed solutions. The guidance and clarifications sought are necessary to support further implementation of the NFPA-805 transition process for our pilot and fleet plants.

Please refer any question regarding this submittal to Mr. Dave Corlett at (919) 362-3137.

Sincerely,

David H. Corlett

Supervisor - Licensing/Regulatory Programs

## DHC/khv

## Attachment:

1. FAQ 06-0004

C:

Mr. R. A. Musser, NRC Sr. Resident Inspector

Mr. C. P. Patel, NRC Project Manager

Dr. W. D. Travers, NRC Regional Administrator

Mr. P. W. Lain, Fire Protection Branch

Mr. A. Marion, NEI

Mr. B. T. Jamar, NEI

bc:

Mr. G. E. Attarian

Mr. H. T. Barnett

Mr. D. T. Conley

Mr. S. D. Ebneter

Mr. D. G. Eisenhut

Mr. J. Ertman

Mr. D. M. Franklin

Mr. J. P. Fulford

Mr. D. W. Henneke

Mr. C. S. Hinnant

Mr. A. Holder

Mr. K. Heffner

Mr. E. D. Hux

Mr. M. T. Janus

Ms. E. K. Kleinsorg

Mr. R. D. Martin

Mr. E. A. McCartney

Mr. H. J. Miller

Mr. D. Miskiewicz

Mr. A. Ratchford

Mr. R. Rishel

Mr. R. A. Steele

Licensing Files (2 copies)

**Nuclear Records**