

Barbara Hamrick, Chair, California Paul Schmidt, Chair-Elect, Wisconsin Jared Thompson, Past Chair, Arkansas Tom Conley, Treasurer, Washington Alice Rogers, Secretary, Texas Steve Collins, Director, Illinois Mike Broderick, Director, Oklahoma

March 31, 2006

The Honorable Governor Tim Pawlenty Office of the Governor	G ADD	()	
130 State Capitol	רס	<u> </u>	
75 Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.	נה		
_St. Paul, Minnesota 55155	. 36. 		_
	မ္မာ		
Dear Governor Pawlenty:	Û.		
	1.5.		

On behalf of the Organization of Agreement States (OAS) Executive Board and all the members of OAS, I would like to congratulate the State of Minnesota on Minnesota's new status as an Agreement State, pursuant to the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (the Act), as amended, section 274b. Minnesota is the 34th state to enter an agreement with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission under the Act since 1962.

The OAS is a voluntary, scientific and professional society comprised of management and staff level representatives from the Agreement States. The OAS is committed to the improvement of radiation regulation nationwide, and to fostering a cooperative and productive partnership among the Agreement States, with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and with other Federal, State and Local agencies involved in the regulation of radioactive materials.

The Minnesota Department of Health, Division of Environmental Protection, Section of Asbestos, Indoor Air, Lead and Radiation has participated in OAS activities for many years in anticipation of becoming an Agreement State. We look forward to the program's continued participation in our efforts, and welcome their Manager, Ms. Linda Bruemmer, in her new status as an Agreement State Radiation Control Program Director.

If you would like further information on the OAS, its meetings, or other activities, please do not hesitate to contact me, or visit our web-site at <u>www.agreementstates.org</u>.

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin

STP-OOL, Jempeato RIDS: SPOT

· 🔿

SISP Review Lompete

The Honorable Governor Tim Pawlenty March 31, 2005 Page 2 of 2

On behalf of the OAS Executive Board and the other 33 Agreement States, I congratulate the State of Minnesota on its new status, and welcome the future contributions of the State to our organization.

Sincerely,

رمينې و

Ň

Bartara L Hamuel

Barbara L. Hamrick, Chair Organization of Agreement States California Radiologic Health Branch 1800 E. Lambert Road, Suite 125 Brea, California 92821 -714-257-2031 bhamrick@dhs.ca.gov

cc: Linda Bruemmer, Manager Section of Asbestos, Indoor Air, Lead and Radiation
Division of Environmental Health
Department of Health
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975

> Janet Schlueter, Director NRC, Office of State and Tribal Programs

Alice Rogers, OAS Secretary