April 25, 2006

LICENSEE: Virginia Electric and Power Company (VEPCO)

- FACILITY: North Anna Power Station, Unit Nos. 1 and 2 (North Anna)
- SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF FEBRUARY 8, 2006, MEETING WITH VEPCO TO DISCUSS A PROPOSED INCREASE OF THE ALLOWED-OUTAGE TIMES FOR SEVERAL SYSTEMS AT NORTH ANNA.

On February 8, 2006, a Category 1 public meeting was held between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and representatives of VEPCO at NRC Headquarters, One White Flint North, 11555 Rockville Pike, Rockville, Maryland. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss VEPCO's proposed license amendment to extend the allowed-outage times (AOTs) for several systems from 72 hours to 7 days at North Anna. A list of attendees is provided as Enclosure 1.

By letter dated December 17, 2004, as supplemented by letter dated October 7, 2005, VEPCO submitted a license amendment request to extend the AOTs for the low head safety injection (LHSI), auxiliary feedwater, quench spray and chemical addition systems from 72 hours to 7 days. During the review, the NRC staff identified several issues that prevented the approval of this amendment. As a result, VEPCO requested this meeting to understand the NRC staff's concerns. The NRC staff opened the meeting by presenting its reasons for not approving the license amendment. Refer to Enclosure 2 for the NRC staff's handouts. The NRC staff stated that VEPCO had not adequately considered the external event risk for Tier 1, 2 and 3 evaluations, and did not consider compensatory measures as described in Regulatory Guides 1.174 and 1.177. In addition, the NRC staff stated that VEPCO's Tier 3 evaluations had not been adequately reviewed by VEPCO. After this presentation, VEPCO indicated it intended to submit an amendment request to extend the AOT for the LHSI system at North Anna and submit another amendment request to add an AOT for the chilled water system at Surry Power Station, Unit Nos. 1 and 2.

VEPCO

Members of the public were in attendance. Public Meeting Feedback forms were not received. Please direct any inquiries to me at 301-415-1544, or srm2@nrc.gov.

/**RA**/ Stephen Monarque, Project Manager Plant Licensing Branch II-1 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-338 and 50-339

Enclosures:

- 1. List of Attendees
- 2. NRC Staff's Handout

cc w/encls: See next page

April 25, 2006

Members of the public were in attendance. Public Meeting Feedback forms were not received. Please direct any inquiries to me at 301-415-1544, or <u>srm2@nrc.gov.</u>

/**RA**/

Stephen Monarque, Project Manager Plant Licensing Branch II-1 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-338 and 50-339

Enclosures:

1. List of Attendees

2. NRC Staff's Handout

cc w/encls: See next page

Distribution:

Public	RidsNrrLAMO'Brien
LPL2-1 r/f	RidsOgcRp
RidsNrrDorlLplc(EMarinos)	RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter
RidsNrrPMSMonarque	Rjasinski,NRR
RidsNrrDorl(CHaney/EHackett)	TBoyce
RidsRgn2MailCenter(KLandis)	BTjader
RLobel	KDesai
AHowe	

SLee, EDO RgnII RidsNrrDssSpwb(JNakoski) RidsNrrDraApla(MRubin) SLingam SLaur AHowe MStutzke

ADAMS Accession No.: ML060830088

Package No.: ML061090372		NRC-001	
OFFICE	NRR/LPL2-1/PM	NRR/LPL2-1/LA	NRR/LPL2-1/BC
NAME	SMonarque:srm	MO'Brien	EMarinos
DATE	4/24/06	4/24/06	4/25/06

OFFICIAL RECORD

LIST OF ATTENDEES - FEBRUARY 8, 2006, MEETING TO DISCUSS THE INCREASE TO THE ALLOWED-OUTAGE TIMES FOR FLUID SYSTEMS AT NORTH ANNA POWER STATION, UNIT NOS. 1 AND 2

NAME

Stephen Monarque Martin Stutzke David A. Sommers Leslie Hartz Chris Funderburk Page Kemp Thomas Hook **Biff Bradley** Jerry Andre Jim Andrachek Thomas Shaub Angelo Marinos Kulin Desai John Nakoski Ed Hackett Tom Boyce Richard Lobel Bob Tjader Andrew Howe Steven Laur Mark Rubin Siva Lingam Cathy Haney Ronald Young

ORGANIZATION

NRC NRC Dominion Dominion Dominion Dominion Dominion Nuclear Energy Institute Westinghouse Westinghouse Dominion NRC NRC

Enclosure 1

North Anna Power Station, Units 1 & 2 cc:

Mr. C. Lee Lintecum County Administrator Louisa County Post Office Box 160 Louisa, Virginia 23093

Ms. Lillian M. Cuoco, Esquire Senior Counsel Dominion Resources Services, Inc. Millstone Power Station Building 475, 5th Floor Rope Ferry Road Waterford, Connecticut 06385

Dr. W. T. Lough Virginia State Corporation Commission Division of Energy Regulation Post Office Box 1197 Richmond, Virginia 23218

Old Dominion Electric Cooperative 4201 Dominion Blvd. Glen Allen, Virginia 23060

Mr. Chris L. Funderburk, Director Nuclear Licensing & Operations Support Dominion Resources Services, Inc. Innsbrook Technical Center 5000 Dominion Blvd. Glen Allen, Virginia 23060-6711

Office of the Attorney General Commonwealth of Virginia 900 East Main Street Richmond, Virginia 23219

Senior Resident Inspector North Anna Power Station U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1024 Haley Drive Mineral, Virginia 23117 Mr. Jack M. Davis Site Vice President North Anna Power Station Virginia Electric and Power Company Post Office Box 402 Mineral, Virginia 23117

Mr. David A. Christian Sr. Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer Virginia Electric and Power Company Innsbrook Technical Center 5000 Dominion Blvd. Glen Allen, Virginia 23060-6711

Mr. Robert B. Stroube, MD, MPH State Health Commissioner Office of the Commissioner Virginia Department of Health Post Office Box 2448 Richmond, Virginia 23218