March 22, 2006

The Honorable Richard B. Cheney President of the United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. President:

In accordance with the provisions of Section 261 of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (42 U.S.C. 2017), Section 305 of the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 (42 U.S.C. 5875), and Section 108 of the Inspector General Act of 1988 (31 U.S.C. 1105(a)(25)), the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is submitting proposed legislation which authorizes appropriations for fiscal year 2007. The legislation requests authorization for fiscal year 2007 for "Salaries and Expenses" of \$768,410,000; and for the "Office of Inspector General" of \$8,144,000.

The Office of Management and Budget advises that the transmission of this legislation to Congress is in accordance with the program of the President.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Nils J. Diaz

Enclosure: As stated Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Richard B. Cheney President of the United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable J. Dennis Hastert Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable George V. Voinovich Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate Change, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Thomas Carper

The Honorable Joe Barton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative John Dingell

The Honorable Pete V. Domenici Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Harry Reid

The Honorable David L. Hobson Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Peter J. Visclosky

The Honorable James M. Inhofe Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator James M. Jeffords The Honorable Ralph M. Hall Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Air Quality Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Rick Boucher

The Honorable Judd Gregg Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Kent Conrad

The Honorable Jim Nussle Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative John M. Spratt, Jr.