UNITED STATES



NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION II SAM NUNN ATLANTA FEDERAL CENTER 61 FORSYTH STREET, SW, SUITE 23T85 ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30303-8931

March 2, 2006

Tennessee Valley Authority ATTN.: Mr. K. W. Singer Chief Nuclear Officer and Executive Vice President 6A Lookout Place 1101 Market Street Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING SUMMARY - MEETING CATEGORY 1 - TVA NUCLEAR FACILITIES - DOCKET NOS. 50-259, 50-260, 50-296, 50-327, 50-328, 50-390, 50-391, 50-438, AND 50-439

Dear Mr. Singer:

This refers to the meeting conducted at your request at the Region II Office in Atlanta, Georgia, on February 28, 2006, at 10:00 a.m. The meeting's purpose was to discuss organizational changes, performance, and initiatives of the TVA nuclear group. Enclosed are a list of attendees and the presentation handout you utilized for the meeting.

The discussions included the following topics: TVA Top Ten Corporate Goals, Operations Issues, Radiation Protection, Equipment Reliability, Organizational Changes, Browns Ferry Unit 1 Restart, Capital Projects, and Oversight Effectiveness. The meeting was very informative and useful in aiding our understanding of your priorities. It did not result in specific action items or decisions.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter and it's enclosures will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room (PDR) or from the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at http://www.nrc.gov/NRC/ADAMS/index.html (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

Should you have any questions concerning this meeting, please contact me at (404) 562-4520.

Sincerely,

/RA by Scott M. Shaeffer Acting for/

Malcolm Widmann, Chief Reactor Projects Branch 6 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket Nos.: 50-259, 50-260, 50-296 License Nos.: DPR-33, DPR-52, DPR-68

Docket and License Nos.: (Continue on page 2)

TVA

Docket Nos. 50-327, 50-328 License Nos. DPR-77, DPR-79

Docket Nos. 50-390, 50-391 License No. NPF-90 and Construction Permit No. CPPR-92

Docket Nos. 50-438, 50-439 Construction Permit Nos. CPPR-122, CPPR-123

Enclosures: 1. List of Attendees 2. Handout - TVA - NRC Executive Meeting February 28, 2006

cc w/encls: Ashok S. Bhatnagar Senior Vice President Nuclear Operations Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Larry S. Bryant, Vice President Nuclear Engineering Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Brian O'Grady Site Vice President Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Robert J. Beecken, Vice President Nuclear Support Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

General Counsel Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

John C. Fornicola, Manager Nuclear Assurance and Licensing Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Bruce M. Aukland, Plant Manager Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution Glenn W. Morris, Manager Corporate Nuclear Licensing and Industry Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

William D. Crouch, Manager Licensing and Industry Affairs Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

State Health Officer Alabama Dept. of Public Health RSA Tower - Administration 201 Monroe St., Suite 700 P. O. Box 303017 Montgomery, AL 36130-3017

Chairman Limestone County Commission 310 West Washington Street Athens, AL 35611

Masoud Bajestani, Vice President Browns Ferry Unit 1 Restart Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Decatur, AL 35609

cc w/encls: (Continued on page 3)

TVA

Robert G. Jones, Restart Manager Browns Ferry Unit 1 Restart Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority P. O. Box 2000 Decatur, AL 35609

Randy Douet Site Vice President Sequoyah Nuclear Plant Electronic Mail Distribution

David A. Kulisek, Plant Manager Sequoyah Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Lawrence E. Nanney, Director TN Dept. of Environment & Conservation Division of Radiological Health Electronic Mail Distribution

County Mayor Hamilton County Courthouse Chattanooga, TN 37402-2801

James H. Bassham, Director Tennessee Emergency Management Agency Electronic Mail Distribution

Michael D. Skaggs Site Vice President Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Paul L. Pace, Manager Licensing and Industry Affairs Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution

Jay Laughlin, Plant Manager Watts Bar Nuclear Plant Tennessee Valley Authority Electronic Mail Distribution County Executive Rhea County Courthouse 375 Church Street, Suite 215 Dayton, TN 37321-1300

County Mayor P. O. Box 156 Decatur, TN 37322

Distribution w/encls: (See page 4)

TVA

Distribution w/encls: E. Brown, NRR M. Chernoff, NRR D. Pickett, NRR L. Slack, RII EICS PUBLIC

PUBLICLY AVAILABLE
ONO-PUBLICLY AVAILABLE
ADAMS:
Yes
ACCESSION NUMBER:

□ SENSITIVE □ NON-SENSITIVE

OFFICE	DRP:RII	DRP:RII										
SIGNATURE	SMS	LSM										
NAME	SShaeffer	LMellen										
DATE	03/02/2006	03/02/2006										
E-MAIL COPY?	YES NO	YES NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY DOCUMENT NAME: E:\Filenet\ML060620472.wpd

LIST OF ATTENDEES

Nuclear Regulatory Commission

- W. Travers, Regional Administrator, Region II (RII)
- C. Casto, Director, Division of Reactor Projects, (DRP), RII
- V. McCree, Director, Division of Reactor Safety, (DRS), RII
- J. Shea, Deputy Director, Reactor Projects, (DRP), RII
- M. Widmann, Branch Chief, Branch 6, DRP, RII
- L. Mellen, Senior Project Engineer, BFN Unit 1, Branch 6, DRP, RII
- S. Shaeffer, Senior Project Engineer, BFN Unit 1, Branch 6, DRP, RII
- S. Cahill, Technical Assistant, Division of Reactor Projects, DRP, RII
- R. Hannah, Public Affairs Officer, RII

Tennessee Valley Authority - Nuclear

- K. Singer, Chief Nuclear Officer and Executive Vice President
- A. Bhatnagar, Senior Vice President, Nuclear Operations
- M. Skaggs, Site Vice President, Watts Bar
- R. Douet, Site Vice President, Sequoyah
- M. Skaggs, Site Vice President, Browns Ferry
- M. Bajestani, Vice President Browns Ferry Unit 1 Restart
- R. Beecken, Vice President, Nuclear Support
- L. Bryant, Vice President, Nuclear Engineering
- J. Fornicola, Manager, Nuclear Assurance and Licensing
- G. Morris, Manager, Corporate Nuclear Licensing
- T. Crosby, Manager, Organizational & Safety Culture

<u>Others</u>

S. Barczak, Safe Energy Director, Southern Alliance for Clean Energy (SACE)