Barbara Hamrick, Chair, California (5) DEP Paul Schmidt, Chair-Elect, Wisconsing TAB-Jared Thompson, Past-Chair, Arkansas Tom Conley, Treasurer, Kansas Alice Rogers, Secretary, Texas Steve Collins, Director, Illinois Mike Broderick, Director, Oklahoma

November 28, 2005

Jared W. Thompson, Health Physicist Supervisor
Office of Radiation Control &
Emergency Mgmt
Radioactive Materials Program,
Arkansas Department of Health
4815 West Markham Street, Slot #30
Little Rock, AR 72205-3867

STP 05 DEC -7 AM 8:2

SUBJECT:

STEERING COMMITTEE FOR TASK FORCE ON THE ENERGY POLICY ACT AND ALTERNATIVE APPROACH TO INCREASED CONTROL OF SOURCES

Dear Mr. Thompson:

On behalf of the Organization of Agreement States (OAS) Executive Board, I am pleased to advise you that you have been appointed to serve as the OAS representative to the Steering Committee overseeing the work of both the NRC/Agreement States Task Force on the Energy Policy Act (EPAct) and Alternative Approach to Increased Control of Sources and the Byproduct Material Definition (NARM) Rulemaking Working Group, effective immediately.

The OAS Task Force representative is Lee Cox of North Carolina. The Task Force will work interactively with many different NRC Offices, as well as the representative from the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors (CRCPD), Martha Diblee of Oregon. The Task Force will be developing a number of different products relating to both the implementation of the NARM provisions of the EPAct and the Alternative Approach to Increased Control of Sources.

The OAS NARM Rulemaking Working Group representative is Tommy Cardwell of Texas. The Rulemaking Working Group will be developing regulations to support the new definition of by-product material and other related provisions of the EPAct. Ruth McBurney of Texas previously agreed to represent OAS on the Steering Committee for the Rulemaking Working Group, and will continue as a co-representative of OAS to this newly merged Steering Committee overseeing the work of both the Task Force and the Rulemaking Working Group.

The Steering Committee will provide guidance to the Task Force and the Rulemaking Working Group, and provide management-to-management contact between the various NRC Offices and the OAS and CRCPD. Charlie Miller, NRC, NMSS/IMNS will be the Chair of the Steering Committee. NRC has been notified of this appointment.

etypen filoeografiote to life likebil ou ondere op fan two we it keintrop in troud op geleen to it **gree**l of t Boursel ligging green en troudsplêd op bour dan to groupe (groupe), it de tylke op geleen to it in troubleg gr

STP-001 Template

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Ribsi Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin

SISP Pericur Complete

Jared W. Thompson November 28, 2005 Page 2 of 2

Please confirm in writing or by email your acceptance to serve as a member of this Task Force to my office at your earliest convenience.

Please keep me advised of the Steering Committee activities and issues. Thank you for your willingness to participate and assist in this project.

Sincerely,

Barbara L. Hamrick, Chair

**Organization of Agreement States** 

Barbara L. Hamriel

California Department of Health Services

Radiologic Health Branch

1800 E. Lambert Road, Suite 125

Brea, CA 92821

714-257-2031

bhamrick@dhs.ca.gov

/ c:

Janet Schlueter, Director NRC, Office of State and Tribal Programs

Charles Miller, Director
NRC, Division of Industrial and Medical Nuclear Safety, NMSS

Ruth McBurney, Manager
Radiation Safety Licensing Branch
Texas Department of State Health Services

Alice Rogers, OAS Secretary