November 16, 2005

Mr. James H. Lash Vice President FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Beaver Valley Power Station P. O. Box 4 Shippingport, PA 15077

SUBJECT: BEAVER VALLEY POWER STATION, UNIT NOS. 1 AND 2, PROJECT MANAGER ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Lash:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) has been reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and to generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization became effective on October 31, 2005.

The five divisions have been expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) has been renamed the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The Director of DORL is Catherine Haney. Ms. Haney's Deputy Directors are Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, Section Chiefs, have been re-designated as Branch Chiefs.

The Licensing Project Manager for your facilities is Timothy Colburn. Mr. Colburn may be contacted at (301) 415-1402 or via email at $\underline{tgc@nrc.gov}$. I have been assigned as the Branch Chief for your facilities. I can be reached at (301) 415-3036 or via email at $\underline{rjl@nrc.gov}$. If you have any questions about the reorganization, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Richard J. Laufer, Chief Plant Licensing Branch I-1 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-334 and 50-412

cc: See next page

Mr. James H. Lash Vice President FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Beaver Valley Power Station P. O. Box 4 Shippingport, PA 15077

SUBJECT: BEAVER VALLEY POWER STATION, UNIT NOS. 1 AND 2, PROJECT MANAGER ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Lash:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) has been reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization became effective on October 31, 2005.

The five divisions have been expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) has been renamed the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The Director of DORL is Catherine Haney. Ms. Haney's Deputy Directors are Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, Section Chiefs, have been re-designated as Branch Chiefs.

The Licensing Project Manager for your facilities is Timothy Colburn. Mr. Colburn may be contacted at (301) 415-1402 or via email at $\underline{tgc@nrc.gov}$. I have been assigned as the Branch Chief for your facilities. I can be reached at (301) 415-3036 or via email at $\underline{rjl@nrc.gov}$. If you have any questions about the reorganization, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Richard J. Laufer, Chief Plant Licensing Branch I-1 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-334 and 50-412

nter
r

ADAMS Accession No.: ML053130281

NRR-106

ADAINS ACCESSION NO IVILUUUU10201			
OFFICE	NRR/LPLI-1/PM	NRR/LPLI-1/LA	NRR/LPLI-1/BC
NAME	TColburn	SLittle	RLaufer
DATE	11/16/05	11/16/05	11/16/05

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Beaver Valley Power Station, Unit Nos. 1 and 2

CC:

Mary O'Reilly, Attorney FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company FirstEnergy Corporation 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

Larry R. Freeland, Manager FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Regulatory Affairs/Performance Improvement Beaver Valley Power Station P.O. Box 4, BV-A Shippingport, PA 15077

Commissioner James R. Lewis West Virginia Division of Labor 749-B, Building No. 6 Capitol Complex Charleston, WV 25305

Director, Utilities Department Public Utilities Commission 180 East Broad Street Columbus, OH 43266-0573

Director, Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency 2605 Interstate Dr. Harrisburg, PA 17110-9364

Ohio EPA-DERR ATTN: Zack A. Clayton P.O. Box 1049 Columbus, OH 43266-0149

Dr. Judith Johnsrud Environmental Coalition on Nuclear Power Sierra Club 433 Orlando Avenue State College, PA 16803

J. H. Lash, Plant Manager (BV-IPAB) FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Beaver Valley Power Station P.O. Box 4 Shippingport, PA 15077 Director Bureau of Radiation Protection Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection Rachel Carson State Office Building P.O. Box 8469 Harrisburg, PA 17105-8469

Mayor of the Borough of Shippingport P.O. Box 3 Shippingport, PA 15077

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406

Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P.O. Box 298 Shippingport, PA 15077

FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Beaver Valley Power Station ATTN: R. G. Mende, Director Work Management (BV-IPAB) P.O. Box 4 Shippingport, PA 15077

FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Beaver Valley Power Station Mr. B. F. Sepelak P.O. Box 4, BV-A Shippingport, PA 15077