December 15, 2005

Mr. H. B. Barron Executive Vice President Nuclear Generation Duke Energy Corporation 526 South Church Street Mail Stop ECO 7H Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

SUBJECT: CATAWBA NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2, AND MCGUIRE NUCLEAR

STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2, PROJECT MANAGER ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Barron:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) has been reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization became effective on October 31, 2005.

The five divisions have been expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) has been designated as the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The Director of DORL is Catherine Haney. Her Deputy Directors are Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. Generic and programmatic issues will be managed by the Division of Policy and Rulemaking. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, Section Chiefs, have been redesignated as Branch Chiefs.

Effective November 27, 2005, the Licensing Project Manager for your facilities is John Stang. Mr. Stang may be contacted at (301) 415-1345 or via email at <u>JFS2@NRC.GOV</u>. The assigned Branch Chief for your facilities is Evangelos Marinos. Mr. Marinos may be contacted at (301) 415-2911 or via email at ECM@NRC.GOV.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Evangelos Marinos, Chief Plant Licensing Branch II-1 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-413, 50-414, 50-369, and 50-370

cc: See next page

Mr. H. B. Barron
Executive Vice President
Nuclear Generation
Duke Energy Corporation
526 South Church Street
Mail Stop ECO 7H
Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

SUBJECT: CATAWBA NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2, AND MCGUIRE NUCLEAR

STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2, PROJECT MANAGER ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Barron:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) has been reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization became effective on October 31, 2005.

The five divisions have been expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) has been designated as the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The Director of DORL is Catherine Haney. Her Deputy Directors are Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. Generic and programmatic issues will be managed by the Division of Policy and Rulemaking. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, Section Chiefs, have been redesignated as Branch Chiefs.

Effective November 27, 2005, the Licensing Project Manager for your facilities is John Stang. Mr. Stang may be contacted at (301) 415-1345 or via email at <u>JFS2@NRC.GOV</u>. The assigned Branch Chief for your facilities is Evangelos Marinos. Mr. Marinos may be contacted at (301) 415-2911 or via email at ECM@NRC.GOV.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Evangelos Marinos, Chief Plant Licensing Branch II-1 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-413, 50-414, 50-369, and 50-370

cc: See next page

Distribution:

PUBLIC RidsNrrLAEDunnington (former) RidsNrrOd (JDyer)
LPL 2-1 R/F RidsNrrLAMO'Brien (new) RidsNrrAdpt (BBoger)

RidsNrrDorlLplc (EMarinos) RidsOgcRp LBerry

RidsNrrPMSPeters (former) RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter

RidsNrrPMJStang (new) RidsRgn2MailCenter (MErnstes)

ADAMS Accession No.: ML053110185 NRR-106

OFFICE	NRR/LPLII-1/PM	NRR/LPLII-1/LA	NRR/LPLII-1/BC
NAME	JStang	MO'Brien	EMarinos
DATE	12/14/05	12/14/05	12/15/05

CC:

Ms. Lisa F. Vaughn
Duke Energy Corporation
526 South Church Street
P. O. Box 1006
Mail Code = EC07H
Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

County Manager of Mecklenburg County 720 E. Fourth St. Charlotte, NC 28202

Mr. C. Jeffrey Thomas Manager Regulatory Compliance Duke Energy Corporation McGuire Nuclear Site 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, NC 28078

Senior Resident Inspector c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, NC 28078

Mr. Peter R. Harden, IV VP-Customer Relations and Sales Westinghouse Electric Company 6000 Fairview Road 12th Floor Charlotte, NC 28210

Dr. John M. Barry Mecklenburg County Department of Environmental Protection 700 N. Tryon Street Charlotte, NC 28202 Division of Radiation Protection NC Dept of Environment, Health, & Natural Resources 3825 Barrett Dr. Raleigh, NC 27609-7721

Ms. Karen E. Long Asst Attorney General NC Dept of Justice P.O. Box 629 Raleigh, NC 27602

Mr. R.L. Gill, Jr., Manager Nuclear Regulatory Issues & Industry Affairs Duke Energy Corporation 526 S. Church St. Mail Stop EC05P Charlotte, NC 28202

NCEM REP Program Manager 4713 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-4713

Mr. T. Richard Puryear Owners Group (NCEMC) Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, SC 29745

Lee Keller Regulatory Compliance Manager Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

CC:

NC Municipal Power Agency No. 1 1427 Meadowwood Boulevard P.O. Box 29513 Raleigh, NC 27626-0513

County Manager of York County York County Courthouse York, SC 29745

Piedmont Municipal Power Agency 121 Village Dr. Greer, SC 29651

Saluda River Electric P.O. Box 929 Laurens, SC 29360

Henry Porter, Assistant Director Division of Waste Management Bureau of Solid and Hazardous Waste Dept of Health & Environmental Control 2600 Bull St. Columbia, SC 29201-1708

NC Electric Membership Corp. P.O. Box 27306 Raleigh, NC 27611

Senior Resident Inspector 4830 Concord Road York, SC 29745

Mr. Dhiaa Jamil Vice President Catawba Nuclear Station Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, SC 29745

Mr. G.R. Peterson Vice President McGuire Nuclear Station Duke Energy Corporation 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, NC 28078