November 23, 2005

Mr. Jeffrey T. Gasser Executive Vice President Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. P.O. Box 1295 Birmingham, AL 35201-1295

SUBJECT: EDWIN I. HATCH NUCLEAR PLANT, UNIT NOS. 1 AND 2, AND VOGTLE

ELECTRIC GENERATING PLANT, UNIT NOS. 1 AND 2, PROJECT MANAGER

ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Gasser:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) has been reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization became effective on October 31, 2005.

The five divisions have been expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) has been designated as the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The Director of DORL is Catherine Haney. Her Deputy Directors are Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. Generic and programmatic issues will be managed by the Division of Policy and Rulemaking. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, Section Chiefs, have been redesignated as Branch Chiefs.

The Licensing Project Manager for your facilities is Christopher Gratton. Mr. Gratton may be contacted at (301) 415-1055 or via email at CXG1@NRC.GOV. The assigned Branch Chief for your facilities is Evangelos Marinos. Mr. Marinos may be contacted at (301) 415-2911 or via email at ECM@NRC.GOV.

Sincerely,

/RA LOIshan for/

Evangelos Marinos, Chief Plant Licensing Branch II-I Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-321, 50-366, 50-424, and 50-425

cc: See next page

Mr. Jeffrey T. Gasser Executive Vice President Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. P.O. Box 1295 Birmingham, AL 35201-1295

SUBJECT: EDWIN I. HATCH NUCLEAR PLANT, UNIT NOS. 1 AND 2, AND VOGTLE

ELECTRIC GENERATING PLANT, UNIT NOS. 1 AND 2, PROJECT MANAGER

ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Gasser:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) has been reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization became effective on October 31, 2005.

The five divisions have been expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) has been designated as the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The Director of DORL is Catherine Haney. Her Deputy Directors are Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. Generic and programmatic issues will be managed by the Division of Policy and Rulemaking. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, Section Chiefs, have been redesignated as Branch Chiefs.

The Licensing Project Manager for your facilities is Christopher Gratton. Mr. Gratton may be contacted at (301) 415-1055 or via email at CXG1@NRC.GOV. The assigned Branch Chief for your facilities is Evangelos Marinos. Mr. Marinos may be contacted at (301) 415-2911 or via email at ECM@NRC.GOV.

Sincerely, /RA LOIshan for/

Evangelos Marinos, Chief Plant Licensing Branch II-I Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-321, 50-366, 50-424, and 50-425

cc: See next page

Distribution:

PUBLIC RidsNrrLACHawes (former LA)
LPLII-1 R/F RidsNrrLAMOBrien (new LA)

RidsNrrAdro (BBoger) RidsNrrOd

RidsOgcRp

RidsNrrDorllplc (Marinos) RidsAcrs/AcnwMailCenter

RidsNrrPMCGratton RidsRgn2MailCenter (MWidmann)

LBerry

ADAMS Accession No.: ML053110151 NRR-106

OFFICE	LPL2-1/PM	LPL2-1/LA	LPL2-1/BC
NAME	CGratton	MO'Brien	EMarinos
DATE	11/22/05	11/22/05	11/23/05

Edwin I. Hatch Nuclear Plant Vogtle Electric Generating Plant

CC:

Laurence Bergen Oglethorpe Power Corporation 2100 E. Exchange Place P.O. Box 1349 Tucker, GA 30085-1349

Mr. Jeffrey T. Gasser Executive Vice President Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. P.O. Box 1295 Birmingham, AL 35201

Mr. Raymond D. Baker Manager - Licensing Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. P.O. Box 1295 Birmingham, AL 35201

Mr. H. L. Summer, Jr. Vice President - Nuclear Hatch Project Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. P.O. Box 1295 Birmingham, AL 35201-1295

Resident Inspector Hatch Project 11030 Hatch Parkway North Baxley, GA 31513

Mr. Harold Reheis, Director Department of Natural Resources 205 Butler St, SE, Suite 1252 Atlanta, GA 30334

Chairman
Appling County Commissioners
County Commissioners
Baxley, GA 31513

Office of the County Commissioners Burke County Commission Waynesboro, GA 30830 Mr. Arthur H. Dombay, Esq. Troutman Sanders Nations Bank Plaza 600 Peachtree St, NE Suite 5200 Atlanta, GA 30308

Resident Inspector Vogtle Plant 8805 River Road Waynesboro, GA 30830

Mr. Steven M. Jackson Senior Engineer -Power Supply Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia 1470 Riveredge Parkway, NW Atlanta, GA 30303-4684

Mr. G. R. Frederick, General Manager Edwin I. Hatch Nuclear Plant Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. U.S. Highway 1 North P.O. Box 2010 Baxley, GA 31515

Mr. Reece McAllister Executive Secretary Georgia Public Service Commission 244 Washington St., SW Atlanta, GA 30334

Mr. D. E. Grissette, Vice President Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. P.O. Box 1295 Birmingham, AL 35201

Mr. K. Rosanski, Resident Manager Oglethorpe Power Corporation Edwin I. Hatch Nuclear Plant P.O. Box 2010 Baxley, GA 31515

Edwin I. Hatch Nuclear Plant Vogtle Electric Generating Plant

CC:

Mr. N.J. Stringfellow, Manager-Licensing Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. P.O. Box 1295 Birmingham, AL 35201-1295

Mr. Skip Kitchens, General Manager Vogtle Electric General Plant Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. P.O. Box 1600 Waynesboro, GA 30830

Attorney General Law Department 132 Judicial Building Atlanta, GA 30334