December 8, 2005

Mr. Jeffrey B. Archie Sr. Vice President, Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 800 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

SUBJECT: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR PLANT, UNIT 1, PROJECT MANAGER

ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Archie:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) has been reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization became effective on October 31, 2005.

The five divisions have been expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) has been designated as the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The Director of DORL is Catherine Haney. Her Deputy Directors are Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. Generic and programmatic issues will be managed by the Division of Policy and Rulemaking. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, Section Chiefs, have been redesignated as Branch Chiefs.

The Licensing Project Manager for your facility is Robert Martin. Mr. Martin may be contacted at (301) 415-1493. The assigned Branch Chief for your facility is Evangelos Marinos. Mr. Marinos may be contacted at (301) 415-2911.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Evangelos Marinos, Chief Plant Licensing Branch II-1 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-395

cc: See next page

Mr. Jeffrey B. Archie Sr. Vice President, Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 800 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

SUBJECT: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR PLANT, UNIT 1, PROJECT MANAGER

ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Archie:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) has been reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization became effective on October 31, 2005.

The five divisions have been expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) has been designated as the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The Director of DORL is Catherine Haney. Her Deputy Directors are Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. Generic and programmatic issues will be managed by the Division of Policy and Rulemaking. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, Section Chiefs, have been redesignated as Branch Chiefs.

The Licensing Project Manager for your facility is Robert Martin. Mr. Martin may be contacted at (301) 415-1493. The assigned Branch Chief for your facility is Evangelos Marinos. Mr. Marinos may be contacted at (301) 415-2911.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Evangelos Marinos, Chief Plant Licensing Branch II-1 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-395

cc: See next page

Distribution:

PUBLIC RidsNrrLARSola (Hard Copy)

LPL2-1 R/F RidsNrrOd RidsNrrAdro (BBoger) RidsOgcRp

RidsNrrDorlLplc (EMarinos) RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter

RidsNrrPMRMartin (Hard Copy) RidsRgn2MailCenter (MWidmann)

LBerry

ADAMS Accession No.: ML053110135

NRR-106

OFFICE	NRR/LPL2-1/PM	NRR/LPL2-1/LA	NRR/LPL2-1/BC
NAME	RMartin:ckg	RSola	EMarinos
DATE	12/8/05	12/8/05	12/8/05

Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station

CC:

Mr. Jeffrey B. Archie Sr. Vice President, Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 800 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

Mr. R. J. White Nuclear Coordinator S.C. Public Service Authority c/o Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 802 Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065

Resident Inspector/Summer NPS c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 576 Stairway Road Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065

Chairman, Fairfield County Council Drawer 60 Winnsboro, South Carolina 29180

Mr. Henry Porter, Assistant Director Division of Waste Management Bureau of Land & Waste Management Dept. of Health & Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Mr. Thomas D. Gatlin, General Manager Nuclear Plant Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 300 Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065

Mr. Robert G. Sweet, Manager Nuclear Licensing South Carolina Electric & Gas Company Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 830 Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065

Ms. Kathryn M. Sutton Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP 111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW. Washington, DC 20004