October 28, 2005

Mr. C. J. Gannon Brunswick Steam Electric Plant Post Office Box 10429 Southport, North Carolina 28461

SUBJECT: BRUNSWICK STEAM ELECTRIC PLANT, UNITS 1 AND 2 PROJECT MANAGER ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Gannon:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) is being reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization will become effective on October 31, 2005.

The five existing divisions will be expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The current Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) will be designated as the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The director of DORL will be Catherine Haney. Her deputy directors will be Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. Generic and programmatic issues will be managed by the Division of Policy and Rulemaking. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, section chiefs, will be redesignated as branch chiefs.

There are no changes to the project manager assignments for your facilities. Brenda L. Mozafari and Michael L. Marshall continue to be the project manager and branch chief, respectively. Ms. Mozafari may be contacted at (301) 415-2020 or via email at BLM@NRC.gov. Mr. Marshall may be contacted at (301) 415-2734 or via email at MXM2@NRC.gov.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Michael L. Marshall Jr., Section Chief Project Directorate II, Section 2 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-325, 50-324

cc: See next page

Mr. C. J. Gannon Brunswick Steam Electric Plant Post Office Box 10429 Southport, North Carolina 28461

SUBJECT: BRUNSWICK STEAM ELECTRIC PLANT, UNITS 1 AND 2 PROJECT MANAGER ASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Gannon:

The Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) is being reorganized to support anticipated new-reactor licensing, risk-informed regulation, and generally improve the effectiveness and efficiency of NRR's programs and processes. The new organization will become effective on October 31, 2005.

The five existing divisions will be expanded to nine smaller divisions. Each division will be headed by a director and one or two deputy directors. The current Division of Licensing Project Management (DLPM) will be designated as the Division of Operating Reactor Licensing (DORL) and will focus, primarily, on licensing activities. The director of DORL will be Catherine Haney. Her deputy directors will be Edwin M. Hackett and Cornelius F. Holden. Generic and programmatic issues will be managed by the Division of Policy and Rulemaking. In the new DORL, the current first-line supervisors, section chiefs, will be redesignated as branch chiefs.

There are no changes to the project manager assignments for your facilities. Brenda L. Mozafari and Michael L. Marshall continue to be the project manager and branch chief, respectively. Ms. Mozafari may be contacted at (301) 415-2020 or via email at BLM@NRC.gov. Mr. Marshall may be contacted at (301) 415-2734 or via email at MXM2@NRC.gov.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Michael L. Marshall Jr., Section Chief Project Directorate II, Section 2 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-325, 50-324

DISTRIBUTION: PUBLIC RidsNrrPMBMozafari RidsNrrDIpmLpdii2 RidsAcrs/AcnwMailCenter RidsNrrAdpt RII DRP Director

PDII-2 R/F RidsNrrLACHawes RidsNrrDlpmLpdii RidsRgn2MailCenter LBerry RII DRS Director RidsNrrPMCPatel RidsNrrLABClayton RidsOgcRp RidsNrrOd BBoger

ADAMS Accession No.: ML053000412 NRR-106

OFFICE	PDII-2/PM	PDII-2/LA	PDII-2/SC
NAME	BMozafari	BClayton	MMarshall
DATE	10/28/05	10/27/05	10/28/05

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Mr. C. J. Gannon Carolina Power & Light Company

CC:

David T. Conley Associate General Counsel II -Legal Department Progress Energy Service Company, LLC Post Office Box 1551 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602-1551

Mr. David R. Sandifer, Chairperson Brunswick County Board of Commissioners Post Office Box 249 Bolivia, North Carolina 28422

Resident Inspector U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 8470 River Road Southport, North Carolina 28461

Mr. John H. O'Neill, Jr. Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 2300 N Street NW. Washington, DC 20037-1128

Ms. Beverly Hall, Section Chief
Division of Radiation Protection
N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources
3825 Barrett Dr.
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609-7721

Mr. Ben Waldrep Plant General Manager Brunswick Steam Electric Plant Carolina Power & Light Company Post Office Box 10429 Southport, North Carolina 28461-0429

Public Service Commission State of South Carolina Post Office Drawer 11649 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Ms. Margaret A. Force Assistant Attorney General State of North Carolina Post Office Box 629 Brunswick Steam Electric Plant Units 1 and 2

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Mr. Robert P. Gruber Executive Director Public Staff - NCUC 4326 Mail Service Center Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4326

Mr. T. P. Cleary Director - Site Operations Brunswick Steam Electric Plant Carolina Power & Light Company Post Office Box 10429 Southport, North Carolina 28461-0429

Mr. Norman R. Holden, Mayor City of Southport 201 East Moore Street Southport, North Carolina 28461

Mr. Warren Lee Emergency Management Director New Hanover County Department of Emergency Management Post Office Box 1525 Wilmington, North Carolina 28402-1525

Mr. Chris L. Burton, Manager Performance Evaluation and Regulatory Affairs PEB 7 Progress Energy Post Office Box 1551 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602-1551

Mr. Edward T. O'Neil Manager - Support Services Brunswick Steam Electric Plant Carolina Power & Light Company Post Office Box 10429 Southport, North Carolina 28461