October 11, 2005

MEMORANDUM TO:	C. William Reamer, Director Division of High Level Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
FROM:	Janet P. Kotra, Senior Project Manager /RA/ Project Management Section B Division of High Level Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
SUBJECT:	PUBLIC MEETING IN TECOPA, CALIFORNIA THE U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WILL PRESENT "OVERSIGHT OF THE POTENTIAL HIGH-LEVEL WASTE REPOSITORY AT YUCCA MOUNTAIN, NEVADA"
DATE & TIME:	October 26, 2005 4:00 p.m 6:00 p.m. (PT)
LOCATION:	Tecopa Community Center Hot Springs Road Tecopa, California
PURPOSE:	Provide an overview of the NRC's independent oversight function and its role in regulating a possible repository for high-level radioactive waste disposal and a discussion of NRC's role in the shipment and transportation of waste.
PARTICIPANTS:	NRC Members of the public Inyo County Government officials
cc: See attached list	
CONTACT: Janet P. Kotra	301-415-6674 or via e-mail <u>JPK@nrc.gov.</u>

Category 3 meeting: The public is invited to participate in this meeting by providing comments and asking questions throughout the meeting.

Memorandum from J. Kotra to C.W. Reamer dated: <u>October 11, 2005</u> cc:

UU.	
A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV	A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV	J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force
I. Navis, Clark County, NV	W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell
E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV	R. Murray, DOE/ORD
G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV	G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C.
R. Damele, Eureka County, NV	C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.
L. Marshall, Eureka County, NV	S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.
A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV	W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD
A. Remus, Inyo County, CA	R. Dyer, DOE/ORD
M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV	J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD
J. Donnell, DOE/ORD	A. Gil, DOE/ORD
M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV	W. Boyle, DOE/ORD
L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV	D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM
D. Swanson, Nye County, NV	S.A. Wade,, DOE/ORD
M. Henderson, Cong. J. Gibbon's Office	C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD
D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV	T. Gunter, DOE/ORD
M. Simon, White Pine County, NV	A. Benson, DOE/ORD
J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation	N. Hunemuller, DOE/ORD
B. J. Vonderheide, NV Congressional Delegation	R. L. Craun, OPM&E
T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation	M. Mason, BSC
R. Herbert, NV Congressional Delegation	S. Cereghino, BSC
M. Murphy, Nye County, NV	B. Gattoni, Burns & Roe
C. Guedry,, NV Congressional Delegation	E. Mueller, BSC
K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation	J. Mitchell, BSC
R. Loux, State of NV	D. Beckman, BSC/B&A
S. Frishman, State of NV	A. Alfano, Lincoln County, NV
S. Lynch, State of NV	J. Kennedy, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau	B. Durham, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
R. Clark, EPA	R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe
R. Anderson, NEI	J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe

- cc: (Continued)
- R. McCullum, NEI
- S. Kraft, NEI
- J. Kessler, EPRI
- D. Duncan, USGS
- R. Craig, USGS
- W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD
- C. Marden, BNFL Inc.
- J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley
- P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- T. Kingham, GAO
- D. Feehan, GAO
- E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications
- G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation
- P. Johnson, Citizen Alert
- A. Capoferri, DOE/Washington, DC
- J. Williams, DOE/Washington, DC
- A. Robinson, Robinson-Seidler
- M. Plaster, City of Las Vegas
- D. Wilson, Sen. Reid's Office
- L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc.
- W. Barnard, NWTRB
- T. Feigenbaum, BSC

- R. Holden, NCAI
- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe

Egan, Fitzpatrick, Malsch, PLLC

- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center
- J. C. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe
- C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes
- R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe
- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe
- V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute
- D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes
- H. Jackson, Public Citizen
- J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV
- I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council
- S. Devlin
- G. Hudlow
- D. Irwin, Hunton & Williams
- P. Golan, DOE
- M. Rice, Lincoln County, NV

DRAFT AGENDA

Public Information Meeting

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Oversight of the Potential High-Level Radioactive Waste Repository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada

> Tecopa Community Center Hot Springs Road Tecopa, California

> > 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. October 26, 2005

Welcome: Meeting objectives and format

Chip Cameron, Facilitator

Bill Ruland, Deputy Director

Spent Fuel Project Office

Bill Reamer, Director

U.S. NRC Oversight of a Potential High-level Radioactive Waste Repository at Yucca Mountain

untain Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety

Opportunity for Questions

Regulatory Perspectives on Transportation and Security of Spent Nuclear Fuel

Closing Remarks

Chip Cameron

Adjourn

	October 11, 2005
MEMORANDUM TO:	C. William Reamer, Director Division of High Level Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
FROM:	Janet P. Kotra, Senior Project Manager / RA / Project Management Section B Division of High Level Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
SUBJECT:	PUBLIC MEETING IN TECOPA, CALIFORNIA THE U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WILL PRESENT "OVERSIGHT OF THE POTENTIAL HIGH-LEVEL WASTE REPOSITORY AT YUCCA MOUNTAIN, NEVADA"
DATE & TIME:	October 26, 2005 4:00 p.m 6:00 p.m. (PT)
LOCATION:	Tecopa Community Center Hot Springs Road Tecopa, California
PURPOSE:	Provide an overview of the NRC's independent oversight function and its role in regulating a possible repository for high-level radioactive waste disposal and a discussion of NRC's role in the shipment and transportation of waste.
PARTICIPANTS:	NRC Members of the public Inyo County Government officials
cc: See attached list	
CONTACT: Janet P. Kotra	301-415-6674 or via e-mail <u>JPK@nrc.gov.</u>

Category 3 meeting: The public is invited to participate in this meeting by providing comments and asking questions throughout the meeting.

DISTRIBUTION:

HLWRS r/f	ACNW	VMehrhoff	CNWRA	PMNS	ECollins
JGuttmann	KStablein	ACampbell	MBailey	FBrown	LChandler
MYoung	JMoore	MZobler	TCombs	KMcConnell	BSpitzberg
WMaier	GMorell	SRohrer	DMcIntyre	RIrish	AULGS
LKokajko	WBrach				

* see previous concurrence

			ML052840265					
OFC	HLWRS		HLWRS		OGC		HLWRS	
NAME	SRohrer* JKotra*			JMoore/HWedewer*		KStablein*		
DATE	9/29/05		9/29/05		9/29/05		10/11/05	