October 19, 2005

Dear Stakeholder:

As you may know, last year the National Defense Authorization Act of Fiscal Year 2005 (NDAA) gave the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) new responsibilities with respect to nonhigh-level-waste (HLW) determinations made by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) in the States of South Carolina and Idaho. These responsibilities include consulting with DOE on its waste determinations and monitoring DOE's disposal actions to assess compliance with the performance objectives contained in NRC regulations at 10 CFR 61, Subpart C. These performance objectives contain provisions for protecting the public, workers, and potential future intruders at the site, as well as provisions for ensuring stability of the disposal site.

In order to enhance consistency across its reviews, the NRC is developing a guidance document called a Standard Review Plan (SRP). The SRP will contain information about the types of information NRC will assess during its technical consultation and monitoring activities. For example, it will describe the approach for assessing whether there is reasonable assurance that DOE can meet the limits for radiation doses to the public for particular waste determinations. Although the NDAA is applicable only to South Carolina and Idaho, the NRC may perform similar activities at Hanford and West Valley. Therefore, the SRP will include approaches for reviews for all four sites.

The NRC staff is interested in obtaining input from stakeholders on the type of information that the NRC should assess during its consultation and monitoring activities and thus, by extension, should include in its SRP. Therefore, the NRC staff is holding a scoping meeting on November 10, 2005, at the Hilton Hotel located at 620 Perry Pkwy, in Gaithersburg, MD. The agenda for this meeting is attached. Registration will begin at 12:30 pm, followed by a presentation by the NRC staff that will describe NRC's new responsibilities, historical involvement in waste determinations, and the general outline of the SRP. The rest of the meeting will be used to allow stakeholders to provide their input to the NRC staff on what should be included in the SRP.

For planning purposes, please register if you plan to attend the scoping meeting by calling Michele O'Shaughnessy, project manager, at 301-415-6659. Information about the meeting, including any future changes made to the agenda, can be found on our website at www.nrc.gov under Public Meetings. If you have any questions about the SRP, the scoping meeting, or NRC's responsibilities under the NDAA, please contact Anna Bradford, senior project manager, at 301-415-5228.

Stakeholder

- 2 -

I hope you can attend the SRP scoping meeting and look forward to obtaining your input.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Larry W. Camper, Director Office of Nuclear Materials Safety and Safeguards Division of Waste Management and Environmental Protection

Enclosure: Meeting Agenda

cc: Invitee List

I hope you can attend the SRP scoping meeting and look forward to obtaining your input.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Larry W. Camper, Director Office of Nuclear Materials Safety and Safeguards Division of Waste Management and Environmental Protection

Enclosure: Meeting Agenda

cc: Invitee List

DISTRIBUTION:								
SFlanders	MThaggard	EJensen	ARidge DEsh	XYin	MO'Shaughnessy			

ML052800058

DWMEP:PM	DWMEP:SC	DWMEP:DD
ABradford	RWhited	LWCamper
10/18/05	10/18/05	10/19/05
	ABradford 10/18/05	ABradford RWhited

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Agenda

Waste Determination Standard Review Plan Scoping Meeting Thursday, November 10, 2005 12:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

12:30 p.m.	Registration	All
1:00 p.m.	Welcome and Introductory Remarks	Larry Camper, Division of Waste Management and Environmental Protection (DWMEP) Director
1:15 p.m.	NRC Roles and Responsibilities	Anna Bradford, DWMEP Staff
1:45 p.m.	Standard Review Plan Overview	Anna Bradford, DWMEP Staff
2:15 p.m.	Questions	All
2:30 p.m.	Break	
2:45 p.m.	Comments on the Scope of the SRP	All
4:45 p.m.	Closing Remarks	Larry W. Camper, DWMEP Director
5:00 p.m.	Adjourn	

cc: Invitee List

Mr. Rickey Armstrong, Sr., President The Seneca Nation of Indians P.O. Box 231 Salamanca, NY 14779

West Valley Citizen Task Force c/o Mr. Tom Attridge New York State Energy Research and Development Authority 10282 Rock Springs Road West Valley NY 14171-9799

Mr. Joel Case, Manager Materials Treatment and Packaging Department of Energy Idaho Operations Office 1955 Fremont Avenue Idaho Falls, Idaho 83415

Mr. Nick Ceto Program Manager Office of Environmental Cleanup Hanford Project Office U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 309 Bradley Blvd., Suite 115 Richland, WA 99352

Mr. John Cochrane Natural Resources Defense Council 1200 New York Ave., NW Suite 400 Washington, D.C. 20005

Ms. Suzanne Dahl-Crumpler Tank Waste Disposal Project Manager State of Washington Department of Ecology Nuclear Waste Program 3100 Port of Benton Blvd. Richland, WA 99354

Mr. Lyle Dolven Coalition 21 545 Shoup Avenue, Room 337 Idaho Falls, ID 83405 Mr. Blaine Edmo, Tribal Chairman Fort Hall Business Council Shoshone-Bannock Tribes P.O. Box 306 Pima Drive Fort Hall, ID 83203

Mr. Paul A. Giardina, Chief Radiation and Indoor Air Branch USEPA, Region II 290 Broadway, 28th Floor New York, NY 10007-1866

Mr. Mark Gilbertson Deputy Assistant Secretary Environmental Cleanup and Acceleration, EM-20 Office of Environmental Management U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20585

Mr. Stuart Harris, Director Department of Science and Engineering Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation P.O. Box 638 73239 Confederated Way Pendleton, OR 97801

INL Site EM Citizens Advisory Board c/o Ms. Peggy Hinman, Project Manager 1425 Higham Street Idaho Falls, ID 83402

Mr. Doug E. Hintze Acting Assistant Manager for Waste Disposition Project U. S. Department of Energy Savannah River Operations Office P. O. Box A Aiken, South Carolina 29802

Mr. Russell Jim, Director Environmental Restoration and Waste Management Program Yakama Nation P.O. Box 151 Fort Road Toppenish, WA 98948

Mr. Ken Lapierre, Chief Federal Facilities Branch US Environmental Protection Agency, Region 4 61 Forsyth Street Atlanta, GA 30075

Mr. Todd Martin, Chair Hanford Advisory Board 713 Jadwin Ave. Suite 4 Richland WA 99352

Mr. Tom Patricelli Keep Yellowstone Nuclear Free P.O. Box 4757 Jackson, WY 83001

Mr. Jerry Peltier, Chairman Hanford Communities P.O. Box 190 Richland, WA 99352

Dr. Paul Piciulo, Director New York State Energy Research and Development Authority 10282 Rock Springs Road West Valley Road West Valley, NY 14171-9799

Mr. Ben Rusche, Chairman South Carolina Governor's Nuclear Advisory Board South Carolina Energy Office 1201 Main Street, Suite 430 Columbia, SC 29201

Mr. Zack Smith Assistant Manager for Tank Farms Office of River Protection P.O. Box 450 Mailstop H6-60 Richland, WA 99352 Snake River Alliance 104 S. Capitol P.O. Box 1731 Boise, ID 83701

Ms. Jean Sulc, Chair Citizen Advisory Board 24 Harbor River Circle St. Helena Island, SC 29920

Mr. John Swailes, Director U.S. Department of Energy West Valley Demonstration Project 10282 Rock Springs Road West Valley, NY 14171-9799

Ms. Kathleen Trever, Coordinator/Manager Idaho Department of Environmental Quality Idaho National Laboratory Oversight Manager 1410 North Hilton Boise, ID 83706

Mr. David Wilson, Jr Assistant Bureau Chief Bureau of Land and Waste Management South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, SC 29201