

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

December 13, 2004

NOTE TO:

NRC Classification Authorities

FROM:

A: Lynn Silvious, Chief

Information Security Section

Division of Nuclear Security, NSIR

SUBJECT:

REMINDERS ON DOCUMENT MARKING

NRC recently underwent an inspection by our national oversight authority for classified programs, the Information Security Oversight Office (ISOO). They reviewed a sampling of documents that had been generated by NRC classification authorities and have pointed out two areas where we could improve our products. All classifiers are reminded that:

When using a document marked as "Classified By: Multiple Sources" as the classification source for a new document, the "Classified By" line on your new document needs to reflect the specifics of source document (e.g. Letter, Reyes to Ridge dated 10/02/2004), and not the term "Multiple Sources."

When generating slides and charts or other briefing materials, portion marking is required, just as on text documents. As a reminder, NRC considers portions to be titles, paragraphs, topics, graphics or other reasonably identifiable parts.

Thanks to all of you who made time to meet with the ISOO team during their inspection and who work to ensure that our classified products continue to be of high quality.

Please contact the Information Security Section at 301-415-2212 if you have any questions about classification and document marking.

 \mathcal{D}_{y}

Distribution: Note to NRC Classifiers, dated December 13, 2004

Subject: Reminders on Document Marking

DISTRIBUTION:

Chairman Diaz, O16C-1

Commissioner McGaffigan, Jr., O16C-1

Commissioner Merrifield, O16C-1

Luis A. Reyes, O16E-15

William F. Kane, 016E-15

Patricia G. Norry, O16E-15

Carl J. Paperiello, T10F-12

Michael F. Weber, T4D22-A

E. William Brach, O13D-13

Michael L. Springer, T7D-26

Janice Dunn Lee, O4E-21

Hubert T. Bell, Jr. T5D-28

John Jolicoeur, O16E-15

Annette Vietti-Cook, O16C-1

Karen Henderson, O4E-21

Richard Savio, T2E-26

James H. Wilson, O11F-1

John W. Craig, T10F-12

Alexander Adams, Jr., O12D-3

Eric Leeds, O5A-4

Melanie Galloway, T8F-42

Robert Nelson, T8F-42

Robert Pierson, T8F-42

N. King Stablein, T7F-3

M. Wayne Hodges, O13D-13

Joseph Holonich, T8F-42

Dennis J. Galvin, T7F-3

Timothy Johnson, T8F-42

Yawar Faraz, T8F-42

Glenn Tracy, T4D-7

Alan L. Madison, T4D-8

Wayne G. Burnside, O2D-15

Martha Williams, T4D-8

Joseph Himes, T4L-7

Jack R. Davis, T4A-57

Daniel Dorman, T4D-7

John J. Davidson, T4D-8

Steven R. Steln, T4D-8

Brad Baxter, T4D-8

Frederick C. Sturz, T4D-8

James C. Whitney, T4D-8

Richard P. Rosano, T4A-57

Michael Burrell, T4D-8

Dennis Gordon, T4D-8

Robert B. Manili, T4D-8

Al Tardiff, T4D-8

Ronald Albert, T4D-8

Bemard Stapleton, O2D-15

Juan Peralta, T4D-8

Michelle O'Shaughnessy, T4L-7

Robert Stransky, T4L-7

Jane Marshall, T4D-8

Nancy Fragoyannis, O16C-1 J. Keith Everly, O2D-15 Timothy McGinty, O6H-2 Chris Nolan, O14E-1 Vonna Ordaz, T4D-8 John Tomlinson, T4D-22A Sherri Cross, T4D-8 Philip Brochman, T4D-8 Mark Lombard, T6E-46 Cyndi Jones, T4D-22A Alan Frazier, T4D-8 Michael E. Mayfield, T10D-20 Mark Cunningham, T10E-50 Farouk, Eltawila, T10E-32 Robert Prato, T4D-8 Patrick Madden, O12G-13 Mark Livingston, T4D-8 Gregory Smith, Region I Douglas M. Collins, Region II Otis Smith, Region II Jon Wallo, Region II Deborah Seymour, Region II William Gloersen, Region II David Ayres, Region II Anne Boland, Region II James Creed, Region III Ken O'Brien, Region III Monte Phillips, Region III Gail Good, Region IV Linda Howell, Region IV Greg Ahearn, Region IV