August 2, 2005

Mr. Joseph D. Ziegler, Director Office of License Application and Strategy Office of Repository Development U.S. Department of Energy 1551 Hillshire Drive North Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

SUBJECT: U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION/U.S. DEPARTMENT OF

ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE ON INFORMATION TO SUPPORT 10 CFR PART 63 ANALYSES FOR THE PROPOSED GEOLOGIC

REPOSITORY AT YUCCA MOUNTAIN

Dear Mr. Ziegler:

Enclosed is the meeting summary of the July 20, 2005, Technical Exchange, between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the information regarding the essential design requirements of 10 CFR Part 63 for the proposed geologic repository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada.

The meeting was held at the Atomic Safety Licensing Board Panel hearing facility in Las Vegas, Nevada. To support staff and stakeholder interactions, the TE included video connections at NRC offices in Rockville, Maryland, at the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas, and the Bechtel-SAIC office in Las Vegas, Nevada. In addition, a bridge number for a teleconference was provided to allow other interested stakeholders to participate in the meeting. If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Tim Kobetz at 301-415-5170 or via e-mail at tjk1@nrc.gov.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Elmo E. Collins, Deputy Director Licensing and Inspection Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: As stated

cc: See attached list

| Letter to J. Ziegler from E. Collins, dated:cc: | August 2, 2005 | | | |
|---|---------------------------------------|--|--|--|
| A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV | A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe | | | |
| R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV | J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force | | | |
| I. Navis, Clark County, NV | W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell | | | |
| E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV | R. Murray, DOE/ORD | | | |
| G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV | G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C. | | | |
| R. Damele, Eureka County, NV | C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. | | | |
| L. Marshall, Eureka County, NV | S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. | | | |
| A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV | W. J. Arthur, III , DOE/ORD | | | |
| A. Remus, Inyo County, CA | R. Dyer, DOE/ORD | | | |
| M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV | J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD | | | |
| J. Donnell, DOE/ORD | A. Gil, DOE/ORD | | | |
| M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV | W. Boyle, DOE/ORD | | | |
| L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV | D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM | | | |
| D. Swanson, Nye County, NV | S.A. Wade,, DOE/ORD | | | |
| M. Henderson, Cong. J. Gibbon's Office | C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD | | | |
| D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV | T. Gunter, DOE/ORD | | | |
| M. Simon, White Pine County, NV | A. Benson, DOE/ORD | | | |
| J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation | N. Hunemuller, DOE/ORD | | | |
| B. J. Vonderheide, NV Congressional Delegation | R. L. Craun, OPM&E | | | |
| T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation | M. Mason, BSC | | | |
| R. Herbert, NV Congressional Delegation | S. Cereghino, BSC | | | |
| M. Murphy, Nye County, NV | B. Gattoni, Burns & Roe | | | |
| S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation | E. Mueller, BSC | | | |
| K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation | J. Mitchell, BSC | | | |
| R. Loux, State of NV | D. Beckman, BSC/B&A | | | |
| S. Frishman, State of NV | A. Alfano, Lincoln County, NV | | | |
| S. Lynch, State of NV | J. Kennedy, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe | | | |
| P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau | B. Durham, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe | | | |

R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe

J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe

R. Clark, EPA

R. Anderson, NEI

cc: (Continued)

R. McCullum, NEI

S. Kraft, NEI

J. Kessler, EPRI

D. Duncan, USGS

R. Craig, USGS

W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD

C. Marden, BNFL Inc.

J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley

P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe

T. Kingham, GAO

D. Feehan, GAO

E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications

G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe

K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation

P. Johnson, Citizen Alert

A. Capoferri, DOE/Washington, DC

J. Williams, DOE/Washington, DC

A. Robinson, Robinson-Seidler

M. Plaster, City of Las Vegas

D. Wilson, Sen. Reid's Office

L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc.

W. Barnard, NWTRB

R. Holden, NCAI

C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe

R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe

D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe

Egan, Fitzpatrick, Malsch, PLLC

J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center

J. C. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe

C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes

R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe

L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah

E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe

D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe

V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute

D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes

H. Jackson, Public Citizen

J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council

D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV

I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council

S. Devlin

G. Hudlow

D. Irwin, Hunton & Williams

Mr. Joseph D. Ziegler, Director Office of License Application and Strategy Office of Repository Development U.S. Department of Energy 1551 Hillshire Drive North Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

SUBJECT: U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION/U.S. DEPARTMENT OF

ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE ON INFORMATION TO SUPPORT 10 CFR PART 63 ANALYSES FOR THE PROPOSED GEOLOGIC

REPOSITORY AT YUCCA MOUNTAIN

Dear Mr. Ziegler:

Enclosed is the meeting summary of the July 20, 2005, Technical Exchange, between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the information regarding the essential design requirements of 10 CFR Part 63 for the proposed geologic repository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada.

The meeting was held at the Atomic Safety Licensing Board Panel hearing facility in Las Vegas, Nevada. To support staff and stakeholder interactions, the TE included video connections at NRC offices in Rockville, Maryland, at the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas, and the Bechtel-SAIC office in Las Vegas, Nevada. In addition, a bridge number for a teleconference was provided to allow other interested stakeholders to participate in the meeting. If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Tim Kobetz at 301-415-5170 or via e-mail at tjk1@nrc.gov.

Sincerely, /RA/

Elmo E. Collins, Deputy Director Licensing and Inspection Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: As stated cc: See attached list

DISTRIBUTION:

ACNW ECollins HLWRS r/f VMehrhoff CNWRA LKokajko KMcConnell KStablein JGuttmann ACampbell MBailey **FBrown** LChandler MYoung JMoore MZobler TCombs **BSpitzberg** GMorell SRohrer WMaier

*See previous concurrences

ML052100108

| OFC | HLWRS | HLWRS | OGC | HLWRS | |
|---------|----------|----------|-----------|-----------|--|
| NAME | SRohrer | TKobetz | DCummings | KStablein | |
| DATE | 7/28/05 | 7/28/05 | 7/26/05* | 8/2/05 | |
| OFC | HLWRS | HLWRS | | | |
| NAME | LKokajko | ECollins | | | |
| INAIVIE | LNUKajku | LOOMING | | | |