The Honorable Dennis J. Kucinich United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Congressman Kucinich:

I am responding to your letter of June 16, 2005, sent to Chairman Nils J. Diaz, in which you register your strong opposition to granting the pending Private Fuel Storage, LLC (PFS) license application.

Under U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission regulations, the Commission has an adjudicatory role in the PFS proceeding. An Atomic Safety and Licensing Board recently has issued decisions that may clear the way for licensing the PFS facility, but the Commission itself must decide whether and when to issue a license. Due to the nature of the Commission's role, I trust you will understand that all members of the Commission must remain impartial during the pendency of this case. It would be inappropriate at this time for any of them to discuss or comment on issues involved in this matter.

A copy of your letter and this response will be served on the participants in the Private Fuel Storage, LLC proceeding.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Annette L. Vietti-Cook Secretary of the Commission

cc: PFS Service List

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Dennis J. Kucinich United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Donald M. Payne United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Gwen S. Moore United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Stephanie Tubbs Jones United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Janice D. Schakowsky United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Charles B. Rangel United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jesse L. Jackson, Jr. United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Nick Rahall United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Cynthia McKinney United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Betty McCollum United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John Lewis United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Lane Evans United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Diane E. Watson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Michael H. Michaud United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Edolphus Towns United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Barbara Lee United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Maxine Waters
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Timothy J. Ryan United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Corrine Brown United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Gregory W. Meeks United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Raul M. Grijalva United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Michael M. Honda United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Hilda L. Solis
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Linda Sanchez United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Grace F. Napolitano United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Joe Baca United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Silvestre Reyes United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Solomon P. Ortiz United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Luis V. Gutierrez United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Danny K. Davis United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Neil Abercrombie United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Emanuel Cleaver United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John B. Larson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Tammy Baldwin United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable James P. McGovern United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Pete Stark
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable José E. Serrano United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John Conyers, Jr. United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Sam Farr
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Major R. Owens United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Sheila Jackson Lee United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mike Thompson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Maurice D. Hinchey United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Alcee L. Hastings United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Louise M. Slaughter United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jerrold Nadler United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Elijah E. Cummings United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Carolyn C. Kilpatrick United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John W. Olver United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Patrick Kennedy United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Sherrod Brown United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Shelley Berkley United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jerry F. Costello United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Nydia M. Velázquez United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Julia M. Carson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Lynn C. Woolsey United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Bennie G. Thompson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ed Pastor United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Diana DeGette
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Rush Holt United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515