

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

## REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

May 25, 2005

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING WITH WOLF CREEK

NUCLEAR OPERATING CORPORATION

FACILITY: Wolf Creek Generating Station

DOCKET: 50-482

DATE & TIME: Thursday, June 9, 2005

6:30 p.m.

LOCATION: Coffey County Library

410 Juniatta Street Burlington, KS 66839

PURPOSE: The purpose of this meeting is to describe the reactor oversight

process, discuss licensee performance at Wolf Creek Generating Station during calendar year 2004, and discuss topics of potential interest to the public. The annual assessment letter for Wolf Creek

Nuclear Generating Station can be located at:

www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/LETTERS/wc\_2004q4.pdf

CATEGORY 1: This is a Category 1 meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with

the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is

adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

David Graves, Chief, Project Branch E, DRP Frank Brush, Senior Resident Inspector, DRP Travis Rhoades, Resident Inspector, DRP

Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Corporation

Rick Muench, President and Chief Executive Officer

Matt Sunseri, Vice President Oversight

Steve Hedges, Vice President Operations and Plant Manager

Terry Garrett, Vice President Engineering

MEETING CONTACT: David N. Graves

817/860-8141 dng@nrc.gov

CC:

Rick A. Muench, President and Chief Executive Officer Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Corporation P.O. Box 411 Burlington, KS 66839

Vice President Operations/Plant Manager Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Corp. P.O. Box 411 Burlington, KS 66839

Jay Silberg, Esq. Shaw Pittman, LLP 2300 N Street, NW Washington, DC 20037

Supervisor Licensing Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Corp. P.O. Box 411 Burlington, KS 66839

Chief Engineer Utilities Division Kansas Corporation Commission 1500 SW Arrowhead Road Topeka, KS 66604-4027

Office of the Governor State of Kansas Topeka, KS 66612

Attorney General 120 S.W. 10th Avenue, 2nd Floor Topeka, KS 66612-1597

County Clerk Coffey County Courthouse 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839-1798 Chief, Air Operating Permit and Compliance Section Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310 Topeka, KS 66612-1366

Gene Merry, Chairman Coffey County Commissioner 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Rebecca Jewett
Coffey County Emergency
Preparedness
110 South 6th Street
Burlington, KS 66839

The Honorable Rick Raymer Mayor, City of Burlington City Hall P.O. Box 207 Burlington, KS 66839

The Honorable Bill Freemen Mayor, City of LeRoy 713 Main Street LeRoy, KS 66857

The Honorable Mark Petterson Mayor, City of New Strawn City Hall P.O. Box 922 New Strawn, KS 66839-0922

The Honorable Craig Meader Mayor, City of Waverly P.O. Box 308 Waverly, KS 66871 Dave Beck
Allen County Emergency
Preparedness Coordinator
Allen County Courthouse
P.O. Box 433
Iola, KS 66749

Rick Frevbert Lyon County Emergency Preparedness Coordinator 425 Mechanic St. Emporia, KS 66801

Gary Benjamin
Anderson County Emergency
Preparedness Coordinator
315 Orange Street
Garnett, KS 66032

Wes Henderson, Acting Director Public Service Commission 301 E. High P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102

Dick Hainje, Regional Director FEMA Region VII Department of Homeland Security 2323 Grand Boulevard, Suite 900 Kansas City, MO 64108-2670

Mike Wells, Deputy Director for Public Policy Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65102

Scott Clardy, Director Section for Environmental Public Health P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570

Ron Reynolds, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0116 Randy Rogers, Sheriff Coffey County Sheriff's Dept. 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

The Honorable Larry Kelley Mayor, City of Gridley P.O. Box 182 Gridley, KS 66852

The Honorable Ed Fisher Mayor, City of Lebo P.O. Box 14 Lebo, KS 66856-0014

Tom Williams, Sheriff Allen County Courthouse P.O. Box 433 Iola, KS 66749

Tim Sipe Coffey County Commissioner 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Larry Crotts
Coffey County Commissioner
110 South 6th Street
Burlington, KS 66839

Kraig Kirchner Coffey County Commissioner 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Fred Rowley, Vice Chairman Coffey County Commissioner 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Dr. Frank Moussa Technological Hazards Administrator 2800 SW Topeka Blvd. Topeka, KS 66611-1287 E-Mail To:

( ) NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

OEMAIL D/OE

RLF2 R. Franovich, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

EJB1 E. Benner

JLD J. Dixon-Herrity, RIV EDO Coordinator JND J. Donohew, Project Manager, NRR

V. Dricks, PAO VLD W. Maier, RSLO WAM **GFS** G. Sanborn, EO **GMV** M. Vasquez, ES CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF, MJS **DRP** Secretaries NLH, LMB, JLH2 **DRS** Secretaries CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Secretaries JLP J. Pellet, IRMB

LPL P. Longdo, Receptionist AMM A. Mattila, Security Advisor

## R:\ WC\2005\WC6-9-05MN-EOC.wpd

RIV:PE:DRP/B	C:DRP/B	PAO	RSLO	
CRStancil;df	DNGraves	VLDricks	WAMaier	
/RA/	/RA/	SRBurnell acting for	/RA/	
5/24/05	5/25/05	5/25/05	5/25/05	