

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

May 20, 2005

James J. Sheppard, President and Chief Executive Officer STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

SUBJECT: SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT - NRC REGION IV DIVISION OF REACTOR

PROJECTS BRANCH CHIEF REASSIGNMENT

Dear Mr. Sheppard:

Effective May 29, 2005, Mr. Tom R. Farnholtz will temporarily be the NRC's Chief, Project Branch A, Division of Reactor Projects, Region IV. (In August, Mr. Claude E. Johnson will receive permanent assignment to this position.) Mr. Farnholtz will assume all South Texas Project regulatory oversight and supervisory duties previously held by Mr. William D. Johnson. Mr. Farnholtz may be reached at 817/860-8243 or his e-mail address of tri@nrc.gov.. All direct correspondence to Mr. Farnholtz should be sent to:

Mr. Tom R. Farnholtz, C:DRP/A U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region IV 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011

Sincerely,

/RA/ by AVegel acting for

Arthur T. Howell III, Director Division of Reactor Projects

Dockets: 50-498

50-499

Licenses: NPF-76

NPF-80

CC:

E. D. Halpin Vice President, Oversight STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

S. M. Head, Manager, Licensing STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5014 Wadsworth, TX 77483

C. Kirksey/C. M. Canady City of Austin Electric Utility Department 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, TX 78704

J. J. Nesrsta/R. K. Temple City Public Service Board P.O. Box 1771 San Antonio, TX 78296

D. G. Tees/R. L. Balcom Texas Genco, LP P.O. Box 1700 Houston, TX 77251

Jon C. Wood Cox Smith Matthews 112 E. Pecan, Suite 1800 San Antonio, TX 78205

A. H. Gutterman, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20004

C. A. Johnson/R. P. Powers AEP Texas Central Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5022 Wadsworth, TX 77483

INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, GA 30339 Director, Division of Compliance & Inspection Bureau of Radiation Control Texas Department of State Health Services 1100 West 49th Street Austin, TX 78756

Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
P.O. Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701-3326

Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Director P.O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Judge, Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414

Terry Parks, Chief Inspector Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation Boiler Program P.O. Box 12157 Austin, TX 78711

Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation and Registration
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
MC-122, P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Ted Enos 4200 South Hulen Suite 630 Fort Worth, TX 76109

STP Nuclear Operating Company	
-------------------------------	--

Electronic distribution by RIV:
Regional Administrator (BSM1)
DRP Director (ATH)
DRS Director (DDC)
DRS Deputy Director (KSW)
Senior Resident Inspector (JXC2)
Branch Chief, DRP/A (WDJ)
Senior Project Engineer, DRP/A (TRF)
Team Leader, DRP/TSS (RLN1)
RITS Coordinator (KEG)

SISP Review Complete	d: _wdj	ADAMS: ☐ Yes	□ No	Init	ials:wdj_
: Publicly Available	□ Non-Pu	ublicly Available	Sensitive	:	Non-Sensitive

- 4 -

S:\DRP\DRPDIR\DRP REORGANIZATION 5-29-2005\Letters to Licensees\STP.wpd

RIV:C:DRP/A	D:DRP		
WDJohnson;df	ATHowell III		
/RA/	AVegel for		