

South Texas Project Electric Generating Station P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

April 25, 2005 NOC-AE-05001872 10 CFR 2.202

James E. Dyer Director Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

South Texas Project
Units 1 & 2
Docket Nos. STN 50-498, STN 50-499
Answer to NRC Order Imposing Requirements for Protecting Certain
Safeguards Information (EA-04-190) TAC Nos. MC5346 and MC5347

- Reference: 1. Letter, J. E. Dyer to Holders of Licenses for Power Reactors, "Issuance of Order Imposing Requirements for Protecting Certain Safeguards Information (EA-04-190)," 11/05/04 (AE-NOC-04001296)
 - 2. Letter, J. J. Sheppard to J. E. Dyer, "Request for Extension to Respond to the NRC Order Imposing Requirements for Protecting Certain Safeguards Information (EA-04-190)," 11/23/04 (NOC-AE-04001821)
 - 3. Letter, J. E. Dyer to J. J. Sheppard, "Request for Extension of Time to Reply to November 5, 2004, Order Imposing Requirements for Protecting Certain Safeguards Information," 04/11/05 (AE-NOC-04001361)

STP Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) has received the NRC Order Imposing Requirements for Protecting Certain Safeguards Information (Reference 1) and the subsequent extension granted to STPNOC (Reference 3). Pursuant to 10 CFR 2.202, STPNOC files this answer consenting to the Order and indicating its decision not to request a hearing.

There are no commitments in this letter.

If there are any questions regarding this letter, please contact Robyn Savage at (361) 972-7438 or me at (361) 972-8757.

J. J. Sheppard

President & Chief Executive Officer

STI 31875174

cc: (paper copy)

Bruce S. Mallett Regional Administrator, Region IV U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, Texas 76011-8064

Director
Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

Assistant General Counsel for Materials Litigation and Enforcement
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attention: Document Control Desk One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

Richard A. Ratliff
Bureau of Radiation Control
Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756-3189

Jeffrey Cruz
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
P. O. Box 289, Mail Code: MN116
Wadsworth, TX 77483

C. M. Canady
City of Austin
Electric Utility Department
721 Barton Springs Road
Austin, TX 78704

(* electronic copy)

A. H. Gutterman, Esquire * Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

David H. Jaffe * U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Jack A. Fusco * Michael A. Reed * Texas Genco, LP

C. A. Johnson *
AEP Texas Central Company

C. Kirksey *
City of Austin

Jon C. Wood *
Cox Smith Matthews

R. K. Temple *
J. J. Nesrsta *
E. Alarcon *
City Public Service

Secretary of the Commission * U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Office of the General Counsel * U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Secretary, Office of the Secretary of the Commission U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Rulemakings and Adjudications Staff Washington, DC 20555



South Texas Project Electric Generating Station P.O. Box 289
Wadsworth, Texas 77483

Return Postage Guaranteed

Director
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555-0001

